physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and lecturer on physics at Harvard, will give courses in the summer school of the University of California.

Professors E. L. Chaffee and N. H. Black are on leave of absence in Europe. Professor Chaffee is completing his text-book on vacuum tubes, and Professor Black, who has attended courses at the University of Cambridge, will finish his study of the instruction in physics given at the English schools and colleges.

Professor E. C. Kemble will spend the summer in Vermont, writing on quantum mechanics.

Professor F. H. Crawford will take a brief vacation in Virginia and then return to Cambridge and continue his research on band spectra.

J. H. McLeod will teach in the summer school and carry on research in atomic physics; D. S. Muzzey will work on supersonics, F. V. Hunt on architectural acoustics and R. W. Hickman on gas tubes. H. P. Stabler will go to Williams College next year as an instructor in physics.

The remodeling of the Jefferson Physical Laboratory will be completed during the summer, under the direction of H. R. Mimno, instructor in physics, who will also do research on power amplifiers.

HONORARY DEGREES FOR SCIENTIFIC MEN

Among honorary degrees conferred by universities at their recent commencement exercises are the following:

Yale University: D.Sc. on Dr. Eugene Lindsay Opie, professor of pathology and director of the department

at the University of Pennsylvania, and director of the Henry Phipps Institute, Philadelphia; and on Mr. John Ripley Freeman, civil and mechanical engineer, Providence, Rhode Island.

Northwestern University: D.Sc. on Dr. Isaac Abt, member of the medical faculty of Northwestern University since 1894; and on Dr. Robert Bruce Preble, professor of medicine at Northwestern University since 1895.

The University of Pittsburgh: D.Sc. on Dr. Carl E. Seashore, professor of psychology and dean of the Graduate School of the State University of Iowa.

The University of Wisconsin: D.Sc. on Dr. Irving W. Bailey, professor of plant anatomy at Harvard University.

Middlebury College: D.Sc. on Dr. Albert W. Hull, of the General Electric Company.

Georgetown University: LL.D. on Dr. Felix Neumann, assistant librarian of the Army Medical Library at Washington, D. C.

Wilson College: D.Sc. on Miss Francis Wick, professor of physics at Vassar College.

Jefferson Medical College: LL.D. on Dr. Irving S. Cutter, dean, Northwestern University Medical School.

Earlham College: LL.D. on Mr. Orville Wright, of Dayton, Ohio, co-inventor of the airplane.

Brown University: D.Sc. on Mr. Ambrose Swasey, Cleveland, Ohio.

University of Toronto: D.Sc. on Dr. L. V. Redman, vice-president and director of research of the Bakelite Corporation and president-elect of the American Chemical Society.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Roosevelt Memorial Association, New York, has awarded a Roosevelt Medal to Dr. C. Hart Merriam, chief of the U. S. Biological Survey from 1885 to 1910, and since research associate of the Smithsonian Institution, who "brought the study of natural history out of the laboratory into the open spaces of field and wood and sky."

Professor Dugald C. Jackson, chairman of the electrical engineering department of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was on June 22 presented with the Lamme award for outstanding achievement in engineering teaching, at the annual dinner of the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education at Purdue University. More than five hundred persons attended the dinner, over which Dr. Harold S. Boardman, president of the University of Maine and president of the society, presided as toastmaster.

Nature states that the portrait of Dr. G. Claridge Druce, which was subscribed for by members of the Botanical Society and Exchange Club of the British Isles on the occasion of his eightieth birthday on May 23, 1930, has been painted by Mr. P. A. de Laszlo.

The gold medal of the Royal College of Surgeons has been conferred on Mr. G. Buckston Browne, in recognition of his contributions to the surgery of the genito-urinary system, and of his gift of an endowment for an institution for surgical research.

Dr. Lecomte du Noüx, director of the department of biophysics of the Pasteur Institute, Paris, has been elected corresponding member of the Society of Biology of Vienna.

Dr. Carl E. Correns, professor of botany at the University of Berlin, has been elected a foreign member of the Linnean Society, London.

M. H. LEBESGUE, professor of mathematics at the Collège de France, and Dr. A. F. Molengraaf, professor of geology at Delft, have been elected associates of the Royal Academy of Belgium.

THE Albert Medal of the Royal Society of Arts for 1931 has been awarded by the council to H. R. H. the