From all sections of the country delegates of the leading scientific, medical, educational, social and civic organizations came to attend the ceremonies and pay tribute to the institution.

Representing the latest in architecture, design and equipment, Lakeside Hospital and its affiliated institutions are models of modern hospitalization. The Western Reserve University medical group is comprised of (in addition to the Lakeside group containing Lakeside Hospital and the Mather, Robb, Lowman and Harvey Houses, nurses' and physicians' quarters, and Hanna House, the private patients pavilion) the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Nursing, Babies' and Children's Hospital, Maternity Hospital, the Institute of Pathology, Rainbow Hospital and the Power House and Service Building.

As a constant benefactor of the university and its great medical center, and one who for nearly half a century has been the chairman of the Lakeside Hospital Board, an illuminated appreciation was presented to Mr. Mather who presided at the dedication.

The address of dedication was delivered by Dr. Hans Zinsser, professor of bacteriology in the Harvard Medical School. Upon him Western Reserve University conferred the honorary degree of doctor of science.

The degree was also conferred on Dr. Samuel Clark Harvey, professor of surgery, Yale University School of Medicine; Dr. Evart A. Graham, professor of surgery, Washington University School of Medicine; Dr. Alphonse Raymond Dochez, professor of medicine, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University; Dr. David Marine, director of laboratories, Montefiore Hospital and assistant professor of pathology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University, and Dr. Alfred Newton Richards, professor of pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

The doctorate of laws was conferred on Dr. Henry Asbury Christian, Hersey professor of the theory and practice of physic, Harvard University Medical School, and on Dr. James Ewing, professor of pathology, Cornell University Medical College.

## BRITISH BIRTHDAY HONORS

THE Birthday Honors List of King George, as reported in Nature, contains the names of the following men of science and others associated with scientific work: Order of Merit: Sir William Bragg, in recognition of his eminent services in the advancement of science. Knights: Dr. J. B. Baillie, vicechancellor, University of Leeds; Colonel S. R. Christophers, director, Central Research Institute, Kasauli; Dr. W. C. D. Dampier-Whetham, fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge; Dr. P. C. Varrier-Jones, founder and medical director of Papworth Village Settlement for the Treatment of Tuberculosis; Professor S. R. Krishnan, King George V. professor of philosophy, University of Calcutta; Professor H. Lamb, emeritus professor of mathematics in the University of Manchester; Mr. C. R. Peers, president of the Royal Society of Antiquaries; Mr. R. L. Robinson, vice-chairman and technical commissioner of the Forestry Commission. C.I.E.: Dr. L. C. Coleman, director of agriculture, Mysore State; Mr. A. Mc-Kerral, director of agriculture, Burma; Mr. C. A. Malcolm, chief conservator of forests, Central Provinces, India. C.B.E.: Dr. Kate Barratt, principal of Swanley Horticultural College, Kent; Mr. W. J. Hadfield, city engineer and surveyor, Sheffield, a pioneer in modern developments of highway engineering and road surfacing; Professor H. M. Hallsworth, David Dale professor of economics, Armstrong College, University of Durham; Dr. Alice Werner, lately professor of Bantu languages at the School of I.S.O.: Mr. W. H. Oriental Studies, London. Moorby, assistant civil engineer-in-chief, Admiralty; Mr. J. B. Scrivenor, director of the Geological Survey, Federated Malay States.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The doctorate of science was conferred by Harvard University at commencement on Dr. Harvey Cushing, Moseley professor of surgery. In conferring the degree President Lowell said: "Adroit with both the scalpel and the pen, a charming writer and the most renowned cerebral surgeon in the world."

At the commencement exercises of the Massachusetts State College, the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred on Dr. Charles S. Howe, formerly president of the Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland, and on Dr. Joseph L. Hills, dean of

the College of Agriculture of the University of Vermont.

THE doctorate of science of Bowdoin College was conferred on June 18 on Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society, New York.

At Dartmouth College the degree of doctor of science was bestowed on Dr. William Patten, professor of zoology at the college, who retires this year after serving for forty years, and on Dr. Lawrason Brown, of Saranac Lake, New York, specialist in the treatment of tuberculosis.