Washington on April 30 and May 1. In addition to the twelve reappointments and seventeen new appointments voted at the February meeting, seventeen further reappointments and twenty first appointments were made at the current meeting, as follows:

REAPPOINTMENTS

For domestic study: G. W. Beadle, agriculture; Ralph L. Beals, anthropology; P. J. Daughenbaugh, biochemistry; R. K. Enders, zoology; Paul E. Fields, psychology; F. L. Howard, botany; A. W. Kozelka, zoology; W. E. Lammerts, botany; C. E. Leese, zoology; R. B. Loucks, psychology; Helen Mar Miller, zoology; C. W. Watson, forestry; G. R. Wendt, psychology.

For study abroad: J. P. Greenstein, biochemistry; David
B. Hand, biochemistry; C. H. McConnell, zoology; C.
V. Smythe, biochemistry.

NEW APPOINTMENTS

For domestic study: M. P. Backus, botany; Abram G. Bayroff, psychology; C. R. Carpenter, psychology; A. E. Clarke, agriculture; Kenneth D. Doak, agriculture; C. R. Garvey, psychology; W. F. Hahnert, zoology; A. Hollander, biochemistry; T. L. Jahn, zoology; Barbara McClintock, botany; Florence E. Meier, botany; W. O. Nelson, zoology; Donald M. Purdy, psychology; A. E. Saeger, botany; Burch H. Schneider, agriculture; George D. Snell, zoology; J. M. Valentine, zoology; J. Volkmann, psychology.

For study abroad: Marc A. Graubard, zoology; E. L. Proebsting, agriculture.

In accordance with the plan of rotation in membership of the board the terms of the following members expire on June 30 of this year: H. H. Bartlett, botany; F. R. Lillie, zoology, and E. L. Thorndike, psychology. To complete the membership in these three fields, the National Research Council has appointed E. W. Sinnott, of Columbia University, for botany; M. H. Jacobs, of the University of Pennsylvania, for zoology, and Madison Bentley, of Cornell University, for psychology.

Meetings for 1932-33 awards will be held approximately early in February and either in April or May of next year. More definite announcement concerning these will be made in SCIENCE in the fall. Information and application forms may be obtained at any time from the Secretary, Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

FRANK R. LILLIE, Chairman

Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences

THE DIAMOND JUBILEE OF THE ST. LOUIS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE St. Louis Academy of Science celebrated on April 14 and 15 the diamond jubilee of its foundation. The event was featured by a lecture delivered on April 14 by Dr. Robert G. Aitken, director of the Lick Observatory, who described some of the recent advances in astronomy. On the following evening the jubilee dinner was held.

The academy, which has lately been affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science, was founded on March 10, 1856, under the presidency of George Engelmann, the well-known botanist. Its purpose was the practice and encouragement of research in various branches of science, the building up of a scientific library and the formation of a museum. From the beginning it formed a forum for the presentation and subsequent publication of researches in botany, geology, natural history, physics, chemistry, etc. Many of the original papers of George Engelmann, Hiram A. Prout, Benjamin F. Shumard, George S. Swallow, F. E. Nipher and William Trelease are found in the twenty-six volumes of the Proceedings which have been published. The academy maintains exchanges with a large number of the learned academies and societies of Europe and America.

Some of the present officers of the academy are Dr. Alfred F. Satterthwait, of the U. S. Bureau of Entomology, president; Dean Walter E. McCourt and John J. Lichter, vice-presidents; Dean Alexander S. Langsdorf, of Washington University, recording secretary; James I. Shannon, St. Louis University, corresponding secretary; Albert Kuntz, St. Louis University, librarian, and J. D. Robertson, treasurer.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held at 28 Newbury Street, Boston, on May 13, the following fellows were elected in the scientific classes:

CLASS I

Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Charles Harold Berry, Harvard University.

Karl Taylor Compton, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

George Russell Harrison, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

George Leonard Hosmer, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Robert Bruce Lindsay, Brown University. William Albert Noyes, Jr., Brown University.

Otto Oldenberg, Harvard University.

George Rutledge, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

CLASS II

Natural and Physiological Sciences

George Blumer, Yale University.

William Bosworth Castle, Harvard Medical School.