ever, delay in joining until such an invitation is received. They should become members at once by getting in touch with the treasurer.

European members will be entertained in New York during the few days between the date of landing and the opening of the congress at Ithaca. Columbia University has generously agreed to cooperate in this matter.

For any particulars concerning the congress communications should be addressed to C. C. Little, Jackson Memorial Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine.

## THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, which met in Washington on April 27, 28 and 29, the following officers were elected:

- President—Dr. William Wallace Campbell, director emeritus of Lick Observatory.
- Vice-president-Dr. David White, U. S. Geological Survey.
- Home Secretary \_Dr. Fred E. Wright, Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.
- Members of the Council—Dr. W. B. Cannon, George Higginson professor of physiology, Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Roger Adams, professor and head of the department of organic chemistry, University of Illinois.

Professor P. Debye, director of the Institute of Physics at the University of Leipzig, was elected a foreign associate. New members were elected as follows:

Dr. Henry Bryant Bigelow, associate professor of zoology at Harvard University and curator of oceanography at the Museum of Comparative Zoology, director of the Institute of Oceanography at Woods Hole.

- Dr. Edwin Broun Fred, professor of bacteriology, University of Wisconsin.
- Dr. Edwin Crawford Kemble, associate professor of physics, Harvard University.
- Dr. Adolph Knopf, professor of geology, Yale University.
- Dr. Robert Harry Lowie, professor of anthropology, University of California.
- Dr. Joseph Haines Moore, astronomer, Lick Observatory, Mount Hamilton, California.
- Dr. Robert Lee Moore, professor of mathematics, University of Texas.
- Dr. Hermann Joseph Muller, professor of zoology, University of Texas.
- Dr. George Linius Streeter, director, Department of Embryology, Carnegie Institution of Washington.
- Dr. Margaret Floy Washburn, professor of psychology, Vassar College.

At the annual dinner of the academy, over which Dr. Thomas Hunt Morgan presided, the Daniel Giraud Elliot medal for the most meritorious work in zoology or paleontology published during the year was presented to Professor Henry Fairfield Osborn for his monograph on "Titanotheres of Ancient Wyoming, Dakota and Nebraska," the presentation speech being made by Dr. William B. Scott, of Princeton University. The Mary Clark Thompson medal "for the most important services to geology and paleontology" was presented to Dr. E. O. Ulrich, geologist of the U. S. Geological Survey, the presentation speech being made by Dr. Rudolf Ruedemann, state geologist of New York.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PROFESSOR HENRY FAIRFIELD OSBORN, president of the American Museum of Natural History, will retire from his office on January 1, 1933, on the completion of twenty-five years of service as president of the museum.

DR. SIMON FLEXNER, director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, has been elected a corresponding member of the French Academy of Sciences in the section of medicine and surgery. He replaces the late Charles Nicolle, director of the Pasteur Institute in Tunisia.

THE doctorate of laws was conferred on May 1, by the University of Michigan, on Dr. James Rowland Angell, president of Yale University. The late James Burrill Angell, father of Dr. Angell, was president of the University of Michigan for forty years.

On the occasion of the installation of Dr. David

Robertson as president of Goucher College, on April 24, the honorary doctorate of laws was conferred on Mrs. Herbert Hoover, in recognition of her work, in collaboration with the President, in translating from the Latin Agricola's "De Re Metallica." Degrees were also conferred on Dr. Winifred Clara Cullis, Sophia Jex Blake professor of physiology in the University of London, and on Dr. Florence Rena Sabin, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research. Addresses were made by Dr. Robert A. Millikan and by Dr. Cullis.

DR. WALTER DILL SCOTT, president of Northwestern University, and Mrs. Scott, also a graduate of Northwestern University, were the guests of honor at a formal banquet at the Blackstone Hotel, Chicago, on May 1. This banquet celebrated President Scott's tenth year as chief executive of the university, and took place on his sixty-second birthday. Dr. Scott