## FELLOWSHIP IN MEMORY OF JAY BACKUS WOODWORTH

A JAY BACKUS WOODWORTH graduate fellowship in geology has been completed to a total of \$25,-009.98, by contributions from 85 persons, mostly former students of Professor Woodworth at Harvard. The committee consisted of Richard M. Field, Edward Mallinckrodt, Jr., Charles Palache, Thorndike Saville, R. W. Sayles, T. Wayland Vaughan, Robert DeC. Ward, Edward Wigglesworth and Charles F. Brooks, *chairman*.

It is the hope of the committee that the first award of this fellowship may be made for the coming academic year, even though the accumulated income by that date will not equal the full amount to be expected in later years.

The fellowship is in memory of Jay Backus Woodworth, distinguished Harvard seismologist, who died in 1925. Owing to Professor Woodworth's broad interest in the whole field of geology, the award of this fellowship is not to be restricted to any one phase of the science.

In the letter of gift to President Lowell, the committee expressed preference to have this fund used according to the following conditions:

On the recommendation of the division of geology of Harvard University, or of such other body as may succeed to the functions of this division, the income of this fund is to be appropriated from time to time as a graduate fellowship in geology, preference being given to a candidate who has shown decided capacity in the pursuit of geology and good promise of advancing the However, if future conditions should be such science. that the foregoing directions can not be followed to advantage, the disposal of the income shall, by vote of the division of geology, or of such other body or bodies as may succeed to the functions of this division, with the approval of the corporation, be otherwise made in the interests of geological research or higher training in geology.

## AWARD OF THE LEIDY MEDAL OF THE ACADEMY OF NATURAL SCIENCES OF PHILADELPHIA

THE Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia announces the selection of Dr. William Morton Wheeler, professor of entomology at Harvard University and dean of the Bussey Institution for Applied Biology, as the recipient of the third Joseph Leidy Memorial Award. Dr. Wheeler was selected "in recognition of his comprehensive and exhaustive studies of the ants of the world, their structure, classification, social organization and behavior; his equally noteworthy contributions to our knowledge of animal psychology, and analyses of evolutionary processes."

The Joseph Leidy Memorial Award was founded in 1923, and consists of a bronze medal and honorarium, given every third year, "as a reward for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the natural sciences in such particular branches thereof as may be designated." The selection of the recipient of the award is placed in the hands of a committee of the academy, which body also determines the fields of activity to be considered.

The first award of the Leidy Medal was made in 1925 to Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings, of the Johns Hopkins University, for his researches upon the Protozoa and the Rotatoria. The second award, in 1928, was made to Dr. Henry A. Pilsbry, curator of mollusks of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, in recognition of his researches upon the phylogeny of the terrestrial mollusca, and his work on the elassification of the Cirripedia.

The committee on the Joseph Leidy Award for 1931 was composed of Dr. Witmer Stone, chairman, Mr. Childs Frick, Dr. Thomas Barbour, Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings and Mr. James A. G. Rehn.

The award will be formally presented to Dr. Wheeler at the meeting of the academy to be held on April 21.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

ON the occasion of the commemoration of the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the Manchester Literary and Philosophical Society on March 17, Sir J. J. Thomson made the address and the Dalton Medal was presented to him.

PRESIDING at the convocation of Calcutta University, Sir Stanley Jackson, the governor of Bengal, presented the Hughes Medal of the Royal Society to Sir C. V. Raman, who was recently awarded the Nobel Prize in physics.

THE Bessemer Gold Medal of the British Iron and Steel Institute has been awarded this year to Sir Harold Carpenter, professor of metallurgy in the Royal School of Mines, Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, in recognition of distinguished services in the advancement of metallurgical science.

DR. JOHN ALEXANDER LOW WADDELL, consulting engineer of New York City, was presented with the first award of the Clausen Gold Medal, "for distinguished service to the engineering profession in the field of welfare," at a dinner of the American Association of Engineers on March 12. Mr. James H. Griffin, president of the association, made the presen-