T. Gilbert Pearson representing the National Association of Audubon Societies.

Arthur Stanley Riggs representing the Archeological Institute of America.

Victor E. Shelford representing the Ecological Society of America.

Mrs. Katharine B. Tippetts representing the General Federation of Women's Clubs.

Henry Baldwin Ward representing the Izaak Walton League of America.

William P. Wharton representing the American Forestry Association.

David White representing the Geological Society of America.

Besides the representatives of other organizations, the reorganized board contains these fifteen trustees at large: Truman Abbe, Albert W. Atwood, Henry W. de Forest, Charles W. Eliot, 2d, Joshua Evans, Jr., Francis M. Goodwin, Caspar W. Hodgson, Walter Bruce Howe, John C. Merriam, John Barton Payne, George E. Scott, Mrs. John Dickinson Sherman, Fred E. Wright and Robert Sterling Yard. Former trustees will be found scattered among both groups, most of them in the latter.

The wholesome relationship of public lands of all uses, of which the National Parks System is one, is the concern of this association, and the preservation of the rare remaining primitive in its safest form of administration is a prime objective.

ROBERT STERLING YARD,

Executive Secretary

THE BOWDOIN INSTITUTE OF NATURAL SCIENCE

Bowdoin College at Brunswick is planning to open on April 7 an institute of natural sciences. The institute will be the fifth in a series begun in 1923, when the subject chosen was "Modern History," and continued at intervals of two years with "Modern Literature," "Art" and "The Social Sciences." The institutes have sought to bring to the student body, the community and the friends of the college an opportunity to hear something of the problems which claim the attention of the leaders in the several fields of activity represented.

Plans for the coming season have been in the hands of a faculty committee under the leadership of Professor Manton Copeland, of the department of biology. Nine speakers will come to the college for the institute, which will occupy about two weeks and will be opened on April 7. Specific fields of science to be represented are astronomy, biology, chemistry, geography, geology, medicine, physics and psychology.

Professor Julian Huxley, English writer and scientist, was the first speaker in the institute group. He spoke at Bowdoin on "Development, Heredity and Evolution."

Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, will talk at the April sessions on "The Cosmic Panorama." Professor Kirtley F. Mather, of Harvard, will speak on "Sons of the Earth: The Geologist's View of History."

Professor Dayton C. Miller, of the Case School of Applied Science at Cleveland, will present "Demonstrations on Visible Sound." Professor George H. Parker, Harvard University, will lecture on "The Cost of a Thought." Professor Edwin G. Boring, also of Harvard University, will discuss "The Rise of Scientific Psychology."

Professor Charles H. Herty, of New York, former president of the American Chemical Society, will speak on "Chemistry's Service in the Promotion of Industrial Research in America." Dr. Isaiah Bowman, director of the American Geographical Society, will speak on "The Invitation of the Earth."

Dr. Florence R. Sabin, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, will have as her topic "Recent Studies of the Chemistry of Bacteria as Applied to Disease." Professor Edwin G. Conklin, of Princeton University, will be the second speaker in the field of biology.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

A FULL report of the Cleveland meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the associated scientific societies will be printed in Science as soon as the permanent secretary is able to arrange the material. Dr. Franz Boas, professor of anthropology at Columbia University, was elected president, succeeding Dr. Thomas Hunt Morgan, of the California Institute of Technology. Dr. C. F. Roos, assistant professor of mathematics at Cornell University and secretary of Section K, was elected permanent secretary to succeed Dr. Burton E. Livingston, professor of plant physiology at the Johns Hopkins University, who becomes general secretary. Professor Charles A. Shull, University of Chicago, was elected secretary of the council to succeed Professor Sam F. Trelease, of Columbia University. Vice-presidents and chairmen of the sections were elected as follows:

Section A (Mathematics), Dr. Earle R. Hedrick, professor of mathematics, University of California at Los Angeles.

Section B (Physics), Dr. Bergen Davis, professor of physics, Columbia University.

Section C (Chemistry), Dr. C. A. Browne, chief of the Bureau of Chemistry, U. S. Department of Agricul-

Section D (Astronomy), Dr. J. H. Moore, astronomer, Lick Observatory.