"Hypersensitivity to Bacterial Proteins and its Rôle in Susceptibility and Immunity," Dr. W. B. Wherry, professor of bacteriology, University of Cincinnati, March 31.

"The Prevention and Cure of Narcotic Drug Addiction," Dr. George F. McCleary, deputy senior medical officer, Ministry of Health, England, April 14.

THE TEXAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Texas Academy of Science held its annual meeting from November 28 to 29 at Baylor University, Waco, Texas, with a large attendance of members. The program, which consisted of twenty numbers, was given in three sections; the first was given over to the exact sciences; the second to the biological sciences, and the third to the educational sciences. Those giving the papers were widely distributed in their connections. The University, A. & M. College, Teachers Colleges and numerous denominational colleges were represented. The night of November 28 Dr. S. L. Brooks, president of Baylor University, entertained the academy with a banquet.

In the business meeting it was announced that the academy had received its charter from the state; that it had been affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science; that its membership had grown within the last year from 79 to 300, and that it had issued Vol. XIV of the "Transactions and Proceedings." The academy adopted an amendment to its constitution providing for the formation of a Junior Academy of Science. Clyde T. Reed, the retiring president, was selected as chairman of the Junior Academy, with Miss Greta Oppe and Robert H. Cuyler as the other members.

The officers elected for the Academy of Science were J. K. Strecker, president, Baylor University; J. M. Kuehne, University of Texas, vice-president Section I; F. B. Plummer, University of Texas, vice-president Section II; W. J. McConnell, North Texas State Teachers College, vice-president Section III. Dr. S. W. Bilsing, A. & M. College of Texas, representative to the American Association Council, and H. B. Parks, San Antonio, secretary-treasurer.

The academy is entering its third year, as this is a reviving of the old academy, which existed from 1892 to 1915. So great is the interest shown in the work that the membership ordered the printing of a monthly bulletin and a volume of "Transactions and Proceedings" for next year.

PRESENTATION OF THE JOHN FRITZ MEDAL

THE John Fritz Medal, which had been awarded to Rear Admiral David Watson Taylor, retired, chief constructor of the United States Navy during the war, was presented at the annual dinner to new members of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, given at the Hotel Astor on December 3 as part of the fifty-first annual meeting.

The award was made to Admiral Taylor "for outstanding achievement in marine architecture, for revolutionary results of persistent research in hull design, for improvement in many types of warships, and for distinguished service as Chief Constructor of the United States Navy during the World War." Mr. Bancroft Gherardi, chairman of the board which made the award, presented the medal after the recipient was introduced by Mr. Walter M. McFarland, past president of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers.

Another event at the dinner was the presentation of special badges to fourteen fifty-year members of the society. Mr. Thomas A. Edison was one of the fourteen. Mr. Fred A. Scheffler accepted the medal for him. The others were Ellwood Burdsall, Port Chester, N. Y.; John W. Cloud, London, England; J. S. Coon, Atlanta, Georgia; P. B. de Schweinitz, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Henry Marx, Cincinnati, Ohio; A. F. Nagle, H. F. J. Porter, Auguste A. Goubert and Francis H. Richards, all of New York City; Albert W. Smith, Ithaca; Ambrose Swasey, Cleveland; Edward N. Trump, Syracuse, and Walter Wood, Philadelphia. The badges were presented by Charles E. Gorton, vice-president of the society.

The speaker of the evening was Elliott Dunlap Smith, professor of industrial engineering at Yale University, and director of industrial investigations of the Institute of Human Relations, who spoke on the subject "Engineering Encounters Human Nature." There were also remarks by the presidentelect of the society, Roy V. Wright, an address to the new members by Conrad N. Lauer, vice-president, and a roll-call of the new members by Calvin W. Rice, secretary. Lincoln Bush, past president of the American Society of Civil Engineers, presided. Ely C. Hutchinson, manager of the society, was the toastmaster.

The three other societies joining in awarding the John Fritz Medal are the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. The medal was established in 1902 in honor of John Fritz of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, pioneer iron master and engineer, who was the first recipient. Others who have won the award include Lord Kelvin (1905), George Westinghouse (1906), Alexander Graham Bell (1907), Dr. Elihu Thomson (1916), General George W. Goethals (1919), Orville Wright (1920), Guglielmo Marconi (1923), Elmer A. Sperry (1927) and Herbert Hoover (1929).