Bernard Frank, assistant forest economist, U. S. Forest Service, Washington, D. C. To make studies at the University of Wisconsin and field investigations in the Lake States of land classification methods and land utilization technique especially as applied to forest lands, together with the preparation of a program of land use for a specific region.

George Ritchie Lane, forester in charge of reforestation, Canada Power and Paper Corporation, Grand' Mere, Province of Quebec, Canada. To make field investigations of the planting, growth and yield of pulpwood species in the Maritime Provinces of Canada, in the hope of reducing the costs of reforestation.

Raymond Frank Taylor, forest examiner, U. S. Forest Service, Juneau, Alaska. To make studies of the silvicultural management of coniferous forests at the School of Forestry, Yale University, supplemented by field work in Washington and Alaska.

John Burton Woods, forester, Long-Bell Lumber Company, Longview, Washington. To make field investigations and to gather material on forestry as practiced in private timberlands and to write a book on the application of forestry to private lands.

During the coming autumn the Forest Education Board will receive applications for the award of approximately eight additional fellowships for 1931–32.

## APPOINTMENTS IN THE U. S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

R. C. Wells has been appointed chief chemist in charge of the Division of Chemistry in the U. S. Geo-

logical Survey, and George Steiger, former chief, will return to studies in chemical and spectroscopic analvsis.

W. D. Johnston and F. G. Wells have been transferred from the Water Resources Branch to the Geologic Branch and assigned to field work.

Eugene Callaghan, Edwin B. Eckel, Charles L. Gazin, E. N. Goddard, Charles B. Hunt, Bernard N. Moore, Watson H. Monroe, Charles F. Park, Jr., and Aaron G. Waters have been appointed junior geologists, and Lloyd G. Henbest, J. Harlan Johnson, Maxwell M. Knechtel, Albert H. Koschmann, Robt. E. Landon, Charles B. Read, Philip J. Shenon, Ralph B. Stewart and J. Steele Williams, assistant geologists in the Geologic Branch, U. S. Geological Survey.

Richard C. Cady and Stanley W. Lohman have been appointed junior geologists in the Water Resources Branch.

Stanly Cathcart, formerly connected with the Geological Survey, was reinstated as geologist in the Conservation Branch, but has recently joined the Pennsylvania Geological Survey staff.

Ralph W. Richards has been reinstated as geologist in the Geologic Branch.

Wendell P. Woodring, for the past few years on the staff of the California Institute of Technology, resumed full time service with the U. S. Geological Survey on July 1, 1930.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE first meeting of the National Academy of Sciences to be held west of Wisconsin will take place from September 18 to 23, opening at the University of California, moving to Stanford University on the third day, and to the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena for the following two days. Arrangements for the meeting are in the hands of a committee including Director Robert G. Aitken, of the Lick Observatory, Professor A. O. Leuschner and Professor William C. Bray, chairman, all of the University of California; Professor W. F. Durand, of Stanford University; Robert O. Schad, of the Huntington Library; Dr. F. H. Seares, of the Mount Wilson Observatory, and Professor Richard C. Tolman, of the California Institute of Technology. Addresses of welcome at the three institutions respectively will be made by President Robert Gordon Sproul, of the University of California; Acting President Robert E. Swain, of Stanford University, and Dr. Robert A. Millikan, chairman of the executive council of the California Institute of Technology. Dr. Isaiah Bowman, of the American Geographical Society, will give an address on the opening day of the session, at 8 p. m. in Wheeler Auditorium, University of California.

BARON GERARD JAKOB DE GEER, Stockholm, and Professor Tullio Levi-Civita, Rome, have been elected foreign members of the Royal Society, London.

WE learn from Nature that at a meeting of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, held on July 7, the following were elected honorary fellows: British Honorary Fellows—Sir Arthur Stanley Eddington; Sir William Bate Hardy; Sir Arthur Keith; Professor J. E. Marr; Professor R. Robinson, Dr. D. H. Scott; Foreign Honorary Fellows—Professor V. F. K. Bjerknes, Bergen; Professor W. B. Cannon, Cambridge; Professor M. Caullery, Paris; Professor G. Fano, Rome; Professor E. H. O. Stensiö, Stockholm.

Professor Charles Morse Allen, emeritus head of the department of chemistry at Pratt Institute and son of Dr. Charles Frederic Allen, the first president of the University of Maine, received the degree of doctor of laws at the fifty-ninth commencement of the university.

An honorary degree of doctor of science has been