that he purposed to retire from the active service of the University of California 14 months later, on July 1, 1930, will resume his residence on Mount Hamilton, following his retirement from the presidency of the university three months hence.

William H. Crocker, chairman of the board of regents, by the authority of the regents, recently extended to President Campbell the invitation of the board that he continue to serve as director of Lick Observatory and as an astronomer in Lick Observatory from and after July 1, 1930, and until, two years hence, he should attain the age of seventy years.

President Campbell was unable to accept this valued invitation to remain in active service, with responsibilities for the directing of the observatory and for the continuous pursuit of astronomical research as an active astronomer. He felt that his decision, as publicly announced in May, 1929, was a wise one; but he informed the regents through Chairman Crocker that he would be greatly pleased to continue his residence on Mount Hamilton, with principal purpose to renew his astronomical studies and to continue them so long as his physical health and mental vigor should justify.

It has been in accord with his most ardent desires that he possess the privilege of taking up again his astronomical work at the Lick Observatory, under the auspices of the University of California. The regents accordingly, and by unanimous vote, determined that following his retirement on July 1, 1930, he should bear the titles, president emeritus of the University of California, director emeritus and astronomer emeritus of the Lick Observatory.

The regents further invited President and Mrs. Campbell to occupy the residence on Mount Hamilton which was built for them in 1894, and in which they resided continuously from that date until they came to the president's house in Berkeley in 1923, and to which in the past seven years they have frequently returned for short stays. However, and largely in consequence of their period of residence in the mild

climate of the Berkeley campus, they will probably not be in actual residence on Mount Hamilton during the winter months, where the storms are frequently severe.

AWARDS OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE medal meeting of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, will be held on the afternoon of May 21. On this occasion honorary membership will be conferred on Dr. Mortimer Elwyn Cooley, dean emeritus of the College of Engineering of the University of Michigan, and on Dr. Henry Leffmann, of the Franklin Institute. The Certificate of Merit will be presented to Heyman Rosenberg, of the Parker-Kalon Corporation, New York City. Medals will be presented as follows: Longstreth Medals to Ervin George Bailey, Fuller-Lehigh Company, Fullerton, Pennsylvania, and to Charles Weyl, assistant professor of electrical engineering, University of Pennsylvania; the Wetherill Medals to Charles Sumner Chrisman, West Chester, Pennsylvania, and to William Nicholson Jennings, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; the Levy Medal to Dr. Floyd Karker Richtmyer, professor of physics, Cornell University; Henderson Medals to George Hannauer (posthumous award), represented by George Hannauer, Jr., Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts; Edgar Marvin Wilcox, Hannauer Car Retarder Company, Gibson, Indiana; the Clark Medal to Henry Latham Doherty, Cities Service Company, New York City; Cresson Medals to Norman Rothwell Gibson, The Niagara Falls Power Company, and to Irving Edwin Moultrop, The Edison Electric Illuminating Company, Boston; the Franklin Medals and Certificates of Honorary Membership to Dr. John Frank Stevens, former chief engineer of the Panama Canal, and to Sir William Henry Bragg, director of the Royal Institution of Great Britain. The two Franklin medalists will present papers. Dr. Stevens will speak on "A Momentous Hour at Panama" and Sir William on "The Meaning of the Crystal." A dinner in honor of the medalists will be given in the evening at the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PROFESSOR EDMUND BEECHER WILSON, of Columbia University, and Professor Sir John Bretland Farmer, of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, have been elected honorary fellows of the Royal Microscopical Society, London.

Dr. L. O. Howard, on the nomination of the Entomological Society of Washington, has been elected an honorary member of the Washington Academy of Sciences. This action was taken in recognition of his distinguished contributions to entomology, his intimate connection with scientists and scientific work in Washington and his services to the academy as member and officer since its foundation.

THE Trudeau Medal for meritorious service will be awarded to Dr. Henry Sewall, of Denver, according to an announcement made at the opening meeting at Memphis, Tennessee, of the convention of the National Tuberculosis Association.