C. H. McConnell—zoology L. T. Steiger—agriculture

The second meeting for further appointments for 1930-31 is planned for about May 1 and 2, and applications for consideration at this meeting should be filed not later than April 1, and earlier if possible. Information and application forms may be obtained from the secretary, Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

FRANK R. LILLIE, Chairman

THE INTERNATIONAL ANATOMICAL CONGRESS

The chairman of the American committee, Professor C. R. Stockard, has received the following general plan of arrangements for the International Anatomical Congress to be held in Amsterdam next summer.

The opening ceremonies of the congress will take place on Monday, August 4. From Tuesday to Friday, the mornings will be devoted to sessions for the presentation of the scientific program, and the afternoons to demonstrations.

During the congress there will be an official reception by the municipality of Amsterdam, and another general reception. The usual dinner of the congress will also be arranged. An excursion to several nearby places of interest is planned for members on Saturday, August 9.

The secretaries of the five associated national anatomical societies will receive the titles of communications and demonstrations from their respective members, and from these several lists of communications the definite program is to be arranged.

There will be exhibits of scientific apparatus, microscopes and materials by the manufacturers from various countries.

Further particulars, with lists of hotels, etc., will be sent out as soon as arrangements are completed, and those expecting to attend the congress may arrange to make hotel reservations through a local committee.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Henri Poincaré Medal of the Paris Academy of Sciences has been awarded to Louis de Broglie for his work on wave mechanics.

On the occasion of the annual observance of George Washington's birthday by the University of Pennsylvania, the honorary degree of doctor of laws was conferred on Dr. Theobald Smith, who recently retired as director of the department of animal pathology of the Rockefeller Institute at Princeton University.

"THE NEW YORK FARMERS," an organization of those interested in the advancement of agriculture, has established a medal to be awarded from time to time for outstanding achievement in agriculture. The first award of this medal was made in New York City on January 21 to Dr. L. O. Howard, for more than fifty years connected with the Bureau of Entomology of the Department of Agriculture.

Dr. Curtis F. Marbut, chief of the soil survey of the Bureau of Chemistry and Soils of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, has been awarded the Cullum Geographical Medal, conferred by the American Geographical Society in recognition of services of special distinction in the field of exploration and geographic research. The presentation was made in New York City on February 25 at a banquet of the society. Major-General George W. Cullum, president of the American Geographical Society from 1877 until his death, in 1892, established the award which bears his

name. The first award was in 1896, to Admiral Robert E. Peary, discoverer of the North Pole. Among others receiving it have been Fridtjof Nansen, Sir John Murray, Robert F. Scott and Sir E. H. Shackleton. Dr. Marbut's studies and classification of the soils of Europe, Africa, South America and North America have furnished an important contribution to the soil geography of the world.

THE gold medal of the Chicago Geographical Society has been awarded to Rear Admiral Richard E. Byrd, for his flight over the South Pole and his contributions to the geographical study of the Antarctic. The Helen Culver gold medal was awarded to him by the society following his flight over the North Pole in 1926. Captain Roald Amundsen, discoverer of the South Pole, was the only other recipient of both medals.

PROFESSOR F. PAUL ANDERSON, dean of the college of engineering at the University of Kentucky, was awarded the first gold medal of the American Society of Heating and Ventilating Engineers at its recent Philadelphia meeting. The medal will be given annually to the member of the society "whose work or services performed in the field of heating and ventilating or air conditioning are outstanding."

Professor E. A. Allcutt, of the department of mechanical engineering, University of Toronto, has been awarded a Herbert Akroyd Stuart Prize for his paper entitled, "Further Tests on a Two-stroke Cycle