Division of Geology and Geography, National Research Council, B & 21st Streets, Washington, D. C., and should be in the hands of the committee before April 5.

ECOLOGICAL MONOGRAPHS

ARRANGEMENTS have been completed between The Ecological Society of America and Duke University for the establishment of a new quarterly journal to be known as *Ecological Monographs* which will begin publication in January, 1931. The Ecological Society becomes responsible for appointing all but one of the editorial board, the other member will represent Duke University, and for the editorial policy of the new series, while Duke University assumes charge of publication and of financial aspects.

At the Des Moines meetings, the society elected:

A. S. Pearse, Duke University, Editor. Barrington Moore, Editor of Ecology, ex-officio associate editor of Ecological Monographs.

The other associate editors elected are:

H. A. Gleason, Brooklyn Botanical Garden

J. E. Weaver, University of Nebraska

E. N. Transeau, Ohio State University

R. N. Chapman, University of Minnesota

R. E. Coker, University of North Carolina Chancey Juday, University of Wisconsin

In view of Professor Pearse's absence in Japan until the opening of the academic year of 1930-31 papers intended for submission to the new journal should be sent forward to any one of the above editorial board or they may be sent forward to the undersigned, who as chairman of the society's committee on the publication of longer papers is still actively interested in this project.

Present plans call for the issuing of Ecological Monographs as a quarterly journal devoted to the publication of researches in longer papers of ecological interest from the entire field of biological science. It proposes to undertake the publication of papers from 25 to 100 printed pages in length which are too long for Ecology, the other journal established by the society. The board of editors will be glad to consider thoroughly scientific manuscripts which deal with any aspect of ecological investigation, including such practical fields as—horticulture, economic entomology and forestry, but will not include technical papers which deal solely with economic problems.

The subscription price will be six dollars per annual volume of about 500 pp. Sustaining members of the Ecological Society will receive both *Ecological Monographs* and *Ecology* without increase in dues, just as all regular members now receive the latter journal.

W. C. ALLEE

THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO

CANADIAN PHYTOPATHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

THE first meeting of the Canadian Phytopathological Society was held in Ottawa on December 19 and 20, 1929. In addition to the presentation of some twenty papers on various phases of plant pathology, organization was completed and the following officers elected for the year 1930:

President—H. T. Güssow, Dominion botanist, Department of Agriculture, Ottawa, Canada.

Vice-president—W. P. Fraser, professor of biology, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Sask.

Secretary-Treasurer—T. G. Major, tobacco division, department of Agriculture, Ottawa, Canada.

Councillors—D. L. Bailey, professor of plant pathology, University of Toronto; J. G. Coulson, professor of plant pathology, McGill University.

The new society is an outgrowth of the former Canadian Division of the American Phytopathological Society formed in 1919 and which has now been dissolved. The society will be affiliated with the Canadian Society of Technical Agriculturists. Publication of the "Proceedings" will be commenced immediately, and arrangements are being completed for the publication of other papers in "Scientific Agriculture" until such time as the society is in a position to publish its own journal.

T. G. Major, secretary-treasurer, writes that the new society extends greetings to the phytopathologists of the United States, and bespeaks their cooperation.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

THE proceedings of the Des Moines meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the associated societies will be reported by the permanent secretary and printed in the issue of Science for February 7. As has already been noted here Professor T. H. Morgan, director of the Kerckhoff Laboratories of the Biological Sciences of the California Institute of Technology, was elected president of the association to succeed Dr. R. A. Millikan. Other officers elected at Des Moines are:

Vice-presidents and Chairmen of the Sections

- A-Mathematics: G. A. Bliss, the University of Chicago
- B-Physics: F. K. Richtmyer, Cornell University
- C-Chemistry: James F. Norris, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- D-Astronomy: D. W. Morehouse, Drake University
- E—Geology and Geography: Edson S. Bastin, the University of Chicago