The organizing committee undertakes to secure the visas required for entering and leaving Russia and to provide on request, rooms, food and vehicles for the entire period of the congress and excursions. Towards these expenses the members of the general committee of the International Society of Soil Science and members who have some special share in the work of the society will pay on their arrival at Leningrad \$300 to the organizing committee. All other members who have paid their yearly subscriptions up to January 1 will pay \$350, while those who have joined after January 1 will pay \$450. The expenses of those who do not participate in the excursions will be \$110. Those wishing to accompany the excursion only as far as Stalingrad on the Volga can leave the party conveniently at the point. The prices of railway tickets are quoted to Leningrad as follows: From Berlin via Warsaw-Negoreloie: 2nd class \$32; 3rd class \$22; from Warsaw: 2nd class \$22; 3rd class \$13; from Riga: 2nd class \$12; 3rd class \$8; from Stockholm via Abo: 2nd class \$16; 3rd class \$9; entrance and departure visas (both) \$5.50.

THE AUSTRALASIAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

THE Australasian Association for the Advancement of Science will hold its twentieth meeting at Brisbane during the week beginning on May 28, 1930. The president-elect of the association is E. C. Andrews, government geologist, Sydney, and the vice-presidents are Professor Sir T. W. Edgeworth David, emeritus professor of geology in the University of Sydney (president, Dunedin meeting, 1904, and Melbourne meeting, 1913); Professor Sir David Orme Masson, emeritus professor of chemistry in the University of Melbourne (president, Sydney meeting, 1911); Professor Sir W. Baldwin Spencer, emeritus professor of biology in the University of Melbourne, director of the National Museum, Melbourne (president, Hobart-Melbourne meeting, 1921), and Lieutenant-General Sir John Monash, chairman, State Electricity Commission of Victoria (president of the Adelaide meeting, 1924).

The association meets in sixteen sections, each presided over by a president and several vice-presidents. The sections and their presidents are as follows:

- Section A.—Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics. President, J. M. Baldwin, Observatory, Melbourne.
- Section B—Chemistry. President, Professor E. J. Hartung, The University, Melbourne.
- Section C—Geology. President, E. de Courcy Clarke, The University, Perth.
- Section D—Zoology. President, R. J. Tillyard, Commonwealth Entomologist, Canberra.

- Section E—History. President, Professor J. R. Elder, University of Otago, New Zealand.
- Section F—Anthropology. President, Professor A. R. Radcliffe-Brown, The University, Sydney.
- Section G—Social and Economic Science and Statistics.

 President, D. T. Sawkins, Bureau of Statistics, Young Street, Sydney.
- Section H—Engineering and Architecture. President,
 Professor Leslie Wilkinson, The University, Sydney.
- Section I—Medical Science and National Health. President (to be announced).
- Section J—Education, Psychology and Philosophy.

 President (to be announced).
- Section K—Agriculture and Forestry. President, W. N. Jolly, Forestry Commission, Sydney.
- Section L—Veterinary Science. President (to be announced).
- Section M—Botany. President, H. H. Allan, Plant Research Station, Palmerston North, New Zealand.
- Section N—Physiology and Experimental Biology. President, Professor T. Brailsford Robertson,
 The University, Adelaide.
- Section O—Pharmaceutical Science. President, A. B. Chater, Care of Taylors and Elliotts, Valley, Brisbane.
- Section P-Geography. President, Dr. C. Fenner, Adelaida

POPULAR SCIENCE MONTHLY PRIZE AWARD

Popular Science Monthly announces that, beginning this autumn, it will confer an annual prize of \$10,000, accompanied by a gold medal, upon the American citizen who has been responsible, during the preceding year, for the achievement in science of greatest potential value to the world.

In making this announcement, O. B. Capen, president of the Popular Science Publishing Company, explained that the award was instituted with a dual purpose—to heighten the interest of the American people in those conquests of the laboratory and the workshop which benefit the entire community, and to focus attention upon the many scientific workers who, without thought of personal profit, toil to better man's control over his physical surroundings.

The award will be bestowed under the auspices of the Popular Science Institute, a research organization maintained by the magazine, of which Professor Collins P. Bliss, associate dean, New York University, is director. The institute has enlisted the services of twenty-four leaders in American science to serve as a committee of award, whose task it will be to select the prize-winning effort.

The prize will be conferred for the first time in September, 1930, and the initial period of scientific accomplishment to be considered by the Committee of