Trinity House. The representatives of the United States were: George R. Putnam, commissioner of lighthouses, Washington; J. T. Yates, superintendent of the Third Lighthouse District, New York, and H. W. Rhodes, superintendent of the Eighteenth Lighthouse District, San Francisco, all of the Department of Commerce.

THE MATHEMATICS OF ENGINEERING

The American Mathematical Society, at its annual meeting to be held at Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pa., from December 27 to 28, is arranging that Friday be given to the presentation of the usual type of papers and that Saturday be devoted to a symposium on the mathematics of engineering. The general topic chosen for the Saturday sessions is "Differential Equations of Engineering," and it is proposed tentatively that both morning and afternoon three half-hour papers be given by men eminent in their fields. This part of the program is being arranged because of a wish expressed by some members of each of the two groups—mathematicians and research engineers—for closer cooperation.

All who are interested are cordially invited to attend. Headquarters for the meeting are at the excellent Hotel Bethlehem. Further details are being planned by the committee on arrangements, of which Professor Tomlinson Fort, of Lehigh University, is

chairman. The sessions will be held in the new Packard Laboratory for electrical and mechanical engineering, a building which sets a new standard for equipment for teaching and research in engineering. On request to the secretary of the American Mathematical Society, 501 W. 116th Street, New York City, a printed program will be sent when it is off the press (about December 7). Other information will be gladly furnished.

All of the persons invited to participate in the program have accepted and have tentatively submitted titles.

H. W. March, department of mathematics, University of Wisconsin.

Vannevar Bush, department of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

- T. H. Gronwall, department of physics, Columbia University.
- A. Nadai, Research Laboratory, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company. (Formerly of the University of Göttingen.)
- R. H. Park, Engineering Department, General Electric Company.
- S. Timoshenko, department of mathematics, University of Michigan. (Formerly with the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company.)

R. G. D. RICHARDSON.

Secretary of the American Mathematical Society

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Paintings of scenes and persons identified with the history of Columbia University will be presented to the institution by alumni and various civic, historical and ecclesiastical societies, as part of the ceremonies to mark the celebration of its one hundred and seventy-fifth anniversary, which will take place from October 25 to 31. The portraits include among members of the faculties Dr. Michael I. Pupin, professor of electromechanics; Dr. John Dewey, professor of philosophy, and Dr. Henry Fairfield Osborn, research professor of zoology. Among the portraits of those who have died is that of James F. Kemp, formerly professor of geology.

Honorary degrees conferred on the occasion of the celebration of the hundredth anniversary of the Royal Danish Engineering College on August 30 include three residents of the United States. These are Professor William Hovgaard, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Henrik J. Krebs, founder of the dye works at Wilmington, Delaware, and Professor H. M. Westergaard, University of Illinois.

Dr. John A. Kolmer, professor of pathology and bacteriology in the graduate school of medicine of the

University of Pennsylvania, was recently awarded the Mendel medal by Villa Nova College for his work in immunology. This is the first award of the medal, which was established to commemorate the work of Gregor Mendel.

WE learn from *Popular Astronomy* that the Committee on Astronautics of the Astronomical Society of France awarded its first annual international prize to Hermann Oberth, a German teaching at the College of Medinsch, Roumania. The presentation ceremonies were held at the Sorbonne on June 6. Walter Hohmann, a German engineer, and Noel Deisch, an American biologist, were given honorable mention. Oberth's paper was deemed of such unusual merit that the original prize of 5,000 francs was raised to 10,000 francs by the founders, Mr. Robert Esnault-Pelterie, a French aeronautic engineer, and Mr. Andre Hirsch, a French banker interested in astronomy.

CHARLES PIEÉZ, consulting engineer of Chicago, formerly vice-president and general manager of the U. S. Shipping Board Emergency Fleet Corporation, has been nominated for the presidency of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Vice-