of engineering. Because of the importance of the work, the fund has had the project under consideration for nearly a year, and the representatives of Syracuse University have discussed the question with the government authorities both in this country and in Canada, as well as with a number of commercial concerns who are actively interested in aerial photography and aerial mapping. It was the judgment of members of the U. S. Geological Survey that there is a great future in the application of stereoscopic principles to aerophotography, especially in making contour maps of regions of considerable relief and difficulty of access.

An advisory committee of men who are actively engaged in the application of aerial photographic surveying and mapping will be appointed later to assist the faculty committee in establishing and directing these courses. It is contemplated that the program will be ready for the beginning of the fall semester. The university will utilize the facilities of the Syracuse Air Port for the necessary flying in connection with the new courses.

The Guggenheim Fund was founded in 1926 by a gift from Mr. Daniel Guggenheim. The purpose of the fund is to promote aeronautical education throughout the country. Since its establishment the fund has aided California Institute of Technology, Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Leland Stanford University, University of Michigan, University of Washington and New York University in establishing aeronautical courses. This is the first aid for the special work in question.

## ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE CEN-TURY OF PROGRESS EXPOSITION

FORMATION by the National Research Council of a special committee of scientific men, who will serve as an advisory body of cooperation with the trustees of "The Century of Progress," Chicago's international exposition to be held in 1933, is announced. Scientific progress in industry will be emphasized as the dominant note of the centennial exposition.

Trustees of "The Century of Progress," of which Rufus C. Dawes is president, asked the National Research Council to appoint an advisory committee to aid them in the organization of the science features of the exposition, and Dr. George K. Burgess, of Washington, chairman of the National Research Council, appointed this executive and general advisory committee to cooperate with the exposition trustees:

## National Research Council, Advisory Committee to the Century of Progress:

Executive Committee: Dr. Frank B. Jewett, chairman, New York; Gano Dunn, New York; Professor M. I. Pupin, New York; Dr. Wm. Allen Pusey, Chicago; Dr. George K. Burgess, Washington; Dr. Vernon Kellogg, Washington, and Dr. Max Mason, New York.

General Committee on Cooperation, appointed as professional and technical members at the suggestion of presidents of national scientific societies in the various fields: Professor Karl T. Compton. Princeton. N. J .: Dr. F. R. Moulton, Chicago: Professor Gilbert Ames Bliss, Chicago; Professor F. K. Richtmyer, Ithaca, N. Y.; Dean Anson Marston, Ames. Iowa: William L. Batt. New York; R. F. Schuchardt, Chicago; W. D'Arcy Ryan, Schenectady, N. Y.; C. F. Kettering, Davton; Professor Arthur N. Talbot, Urbana, Ill.; W. H. Eisenman, Cleveland, Ohio; S. H. McCrory, Washington; Dr. Arthur D. Little, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Professor A. H. White, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Ross G. Purdy, Columbus, Ohio: Professor Colin G. Fink, New York: Professor C. K. Leith, Madison, Wisconsin; Dr. Isaiah Bowman. New York: Dr. Gilbert Grosvenor, Washington: W. E. Wrather. Dallas. Texas: Professor R. R. Benslev. Chicago: Dean Arthur D. Black, Chicago: Dr. Frank Billings, Chicago; Professor Preston M. Hickey, Ann Arbor; Professor Stanhope Bayne-Jones, Rochester, N. Y.; Professor L. Van Es, Lincoln, Nebraska; Dr. Daniel T. MacDougal, Tucson, Arizona; Professor T. H. Morgan, Pasadena, California; Professor Frank R. Lillie, Chicago; Professor William H. Howell, Baltimore; W. P. Flint, Urbana: Professor Fay-Cooper Cole, Chicago: Professor Harvey A. Carr. Chicago.

Members at large of the General Committee: Magnus Alexander, New York; Dr. James R. Angell, Yale University; Julius H. Barnes, New York; Newcomb Carlton, New York; George G. Crawford, Birmingham, Alabama; George E. Hale, Pasadena, California; Edward Hungerford, New York; Dr. Waldemar Kaempffert, Chicago; Dr. John C. Merriam, Washington; Dr. Julius Klein, Washington; Dr. R. A. Millikan, Pasadena, California; Dr. E. E. Slosson, Washington; Daniel Willard, Baltimore; Dr. A. F. Woods, Washington; Owen D. Young, New York.

Maurice Holland, director of the Division of Engineering and Industrial Research of the National Research Council, has been appointed executive secretary of the advisory committee for the Century of Progress, with temporary offices at the National Research Council in the Engineering Societies Building, 29 West 39th Street, New York City.

The first meeting of the advisory committee was held in New York at the University Club on Thursday evening, June 20, when the executive committee met in advance of the meeting of the general advisory committee on Friday evening, June 21. At these conferences the advisory committee was officially organized.

## THE SEDGWICK MEDAL AWARD

THE American Public Health Association announces that the first award of the Sedgwick Memorial Medal