E. Roubaud, Professor Metalnikov, Mr. K. Toumanoff and Mr. V. Chorinee, of the Pasteur Institute; Director A. Paillot, of France; Professor H. Prell and Dr. H. Sachtleben, of Germany; Dr. A. Kemner, of Sweden; Professor A. Kotlan and Dr. Bela Husz, of Hungary; Professor Vale Vouk, of Jugoslavia, and Director W. Knechtel. of Roumania.

At the suggestion of the ministers of agriculture of Hungary, Jugoslavia and Roumania, a commission was formed to consider the formulation of uniform corn borer regulations in the three countries comprising the central European corn belt. Members of this commission are Dr. Tage Ellinger, chairman; Director Knechtel, of Roumania; Dr. Siegescu, of Hungary, and Professor Vouk, of Jugoslavia.

THE TEXAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Texas Academy of Science completed its reorganization during a meeting held at the University of Texas at Austin on May 24 and 25. The Texas Academy was first organized in 1892 and continued its meetings up to the time of the war. Its total membership was about five hundred, and twelve volumes of proceedings were published. A preliminary meeting for reorganization was held in San Antonio on November 29. The membership at the time of the present meeting is about seventy-five. A section in the newly adopted constitution incorporated the membership of the old academy into the new, thus making the total membership about one hundred and twentyfive. At the first session Dr. E. P. Schoch gave a concise history of the search after potash deposits in West Texas, and predicted what might be expected as a result of the findings. Dr. B. C. Tharp gave an illustrated lecture on the vegetation of Padre Island and the Gulf Coast country. At night the University of Texas gave a dinner in honor of the old and new academies. Dr. H. Y. Benedict, president of the university, presided. Dr. Frederick W. Simonds, senior professor of the university, spoke on the history of the old academy, telling of noted investigators who belonged to its membership, and of their work and publications. To illustrate his talk, he introduced Dr. R. T. Hill, of the U. S. Geological Survey, who was the honor guest at dinner, as an example of the membership. Dr. Simonds closed his talk by saying that the reorganized academy had an immense opportunity and a running start. There were about seventyfive present. At the business meeting on Saturday morning a tentative constitution was adopted. The first regular meeting was set for the last week in November. C. T. Reed, Kingsville Normal School, is president. H. B. Parks, Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, is secretary.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Theobald Smith, who reaches the age of seventy years on July 31, retires from the directorship of the department of animal pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research on June 30. Dr. Carl TenBroeck, now a member of the institute, has been appointed acting director in his place. Dr. Smith has held the directorship since July 1, 1914, at which time he transferred from Harvard University to the Rockefeller Institute. He will continue to carry on his scientific work at the Princeton laboratories of the institute.

Dr. Joseph S. Ames, dean of the college faculty and for three years provost of the Johns Hopkins University and formerly professor of physics and director of the laboratory of physics, has been elected to succeed Dr. Frank J. Goodnow, who has been president since October, 1914, succeeding the late Dr. Ira S. Remsen. The resignation of Dr. Goodnow, given to the board in January, 1928, was accepted to take effect on July 1 next in agreement with his wishes. He will become president emeritus, continuing his connection with the university by conducting a course of lectures. Dr. Ames is chairman of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, which has done much important research work on the scientific phases of aeronautics.

Dr. Herman Schneider, since 1919 dean of the college of engineering and commerce of the University of Cincinnati, has been elected president of the university. Daniel Laurence, business manager, has been elected vice-president. Dr. Schneider has been acting president since the retirement of President Frederick Charles Hicks.

At the commencement exercises of the Case School of Applied Science, the doctorate of engineering was conferred on Dr. Charles S. Howe, the retiring president, and on Dr. William Elgin Wickenden, president-elect, who gave the commencement address. Dr. Howe retires after having served the Case School for forty years, twenty-seven of these as president.

At the recent commencement exercises at Columbia University, the honorary doctorate of science was conferred on George Emerson Brewer, surgeon, and William Hallock Park, physician and medical officer, both of New York City, and on Dr. Augustus Trowbridge, dean of the Princeton University Graduate School. The doctorate of science in pharmacy was conferred on Walter A. Bastedo, pharmacist, physician and medical author; Robert A. Hatcher, professor of pharmacology at Cornell Medical College; Charles F. Schleussner, pharmacist; Wilbur L. Scoville, chairman