ways and means committee includes Dr. Russell as chairman and Dr. C. C. Burlingame as vice-chairman and the following members: Drs. Stephen P. Duggan, Homer Folks, C. Floyd Haviland, Augustus Knight, Austen Fox Riggs, Frankwood E. Williams and Brigadier-General S. H. Wadhams.

THE MEDALS OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE medal meeting of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, will be held on the afternoon of May 15 at 3:30.

Presentations will be made as follows:

Certificate of Merit to Mr. George F. Machlet, American Gas Furnace Company, Elizabeth, New Jersey.

Longstreth Medals to Mr. Edward G. Herbert, Atlas Works, Manchester, England; Dr. Konrad Jagschitz, Mainz, Germany; Mr. A. W. Machlet, American Gas Furnace Company, Elizabeth, New Jersey, and Mr. J. F. Peters, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Wetherill Medals to Mr. Gustave Fast, The Bartlett Hayward Company, Baltimore, Maryland; Mr. W. H. Mason, Masonite Corporation, Laurel, Mississippi, and Dr. Johannes Ruths, Djursholm, Sweden.

The Levy Medal to Mr. Lodewyk J. R. Holst, Brock and Weymouth, Inc., Philadelphia.

The Clark Medal to Mr. W. H. Gartley, Philadelphia Gas Works Company, Philadelphia.

Cresson Medals to Sir James C. Irvine, St. Andrews, Scotland; Dr. Chevalier Jackson, Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, and Dr. Elmer A. Sperry, Sperry Development Company, Brooklyn, New York.

Franklin Medals and Certificates of Honorary Membership to Mr. Emile Berliner, Washington, District of Columbia, and Dr. Charles Thomson Rees Wilson, Cambridge, England, received by Sir Esme Howard, British Ambassador to the United States.

The following papers will be read:

"Vocal Physics—Historical Notes," by Emile Berliner, and "Some Thundercloud Problems," by Professor C. T. R. Wilson, University of Cambridge, who will be presented by Professor John Zeleny, of Yale University.

PRESENTATION OF THE JOHN FRITZ MEDAL TO PRESIDENT HOOVER

PRESIDENT HOOVER received on April 25 the John Fritz Gold Medal, which is annually awarded by the John Fritz Medal Board, representing the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, for "notable scientific or industrial achievement, without restriction on account of nationality or sex." This medal, which is the highest honor bestowed by these four engineering societies, with a membership of 60,000, was presented to the President by representatives of the societies, who called at the White House.

According to the report in the United States Daily, Dean Dexter S. Kimball, of the College of Engineering, Cornell University, chairman of the present board of award, presided and gave a brief history of the medal. He is a past president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. General J. J. Carty, of New York, vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, spoke briefly of the human elements of Mr. Hoover's work. Dr. John R. Freeman, past president of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a former member of the board of award spoke of Mr. Hoover's work as an engineer.

J. V. W. Reynders, past president of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers and chairman of the board which made the award to Mr. Hoover, presented the medal and quoted from the certificate which accompanied the medal the citation "To Herbert Hoover, engineer, scholar, organizer of relief to war-stricken peoples, public servant."

The first award of the medal was made to John Fritz at a dinner given to him on his eightieth birthday, August 21, 1902. The other awards have been as follows:

1905, to Lord Kelvin for his work in cable telegraphy and other scientific attainments.

1906, to George Westinghouse for the invention and development of the air brake.

1907, to Alexander Graham Bell for the invention and introduction of the telephone.

1908, to Thomas Alva Edison for the invention of the duplex and quadruplex telegraph, the phonograph, the development of a commercially practical incandescent lamp, the development of a complete system of electric lighting, including dynamos, regulating devices, underground system, protective devices and meters.

1909, to Charles T. Porter for his work in advancing the knowledge of steam engineering and in improvements in engine construction.

1910, to Alfred Noble for notable achievements as a civil engineer.

1911, to Sir William H. White for notable achievements in naval architecture.

1912, to Robert W. Hunt for his contributions to the early development of the Bessemer process.

1913, no award.

1914, to Professor John E. Sweet for his achievements in machine design and pioneer work in applying sound engineering principles to the construction and development of the high-speed steam engine.

1915, to Dr. James Douglas for notable achievement in mining, metallurgy, education and industrial welfare.