The testimonial:

THIS TESTIMONIAL
IS PRESENTED TO
DEXTER SIMPSON KIMBALL
DEAN OF THE
COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING
CORNELL UNIVERSITY
WHO ON MARCH 8TH, 1929,
DELIVERED THE FIFTH ANNUAL
STEINMETZ MEMORIAL LECTURE
ON

MODERN ENGINEERING ECONOMICS

THE PACIFIC DIVISION OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCE-MENT OF SCIENCE

The thirteenth annual meeting of the Pacific Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science is to be held at the University of California on its Berkeley campus from June 19 to 22, according to the announcement of the executive committee. Seventeen of the thirty-one societies associated with the Pacific Division have arranged sectional programs, in addition to the general program of the association.

The Pacific Division prize, an award of \$100, is announced for an important scientific contribution reported at this meeting. This is the first time that this prize, announced at the Pomona College meeting last summer, will have been awarded.

Officers of the Pacific Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science are: President, Walter S. Adams, Mount Wilson Observatory, Pasadena; vice-president, Ernest G. Martin, Stanford University; secretary-treasurer, Arthur G. Vestal, Stanford University; executive committee, S. J. Barnett, Roy E. Clausen, L. B. Loeb and J. H. Moore, University of California; J. O. Snyder, Stanford; O. F. Stafford, University of Oregon, and Bernard Benfield, consulting engineer, San Francisco.

The Southwestern Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will hold its session jointly with the Pacific session, this being the fourth meeting of this kind.

Professor T. D. Beckwith is chairman of the general committee on arrangements, appointed by President W. W. Campbell, of the University of California. Subcommittees on local affairs, reception and entertainment and excursions have been appointed.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The presentation of the John Fritz medal recently awarded to President Hoover will be made officially at a dinner at the White House on April 15. The

medal represents the highest award of the four great national engineering societies in mining, mechanical, electrical and civil engineering. It was awarded to President Hoover not in recognition of any single achievement but on the basis of his entire record.

Dr. Aristides Agramonte, of Havana, the only surviving member of the yellow fever commission to Cuba, is one of those on whom congress has conferred a gold medal, carrying the award of merit and an annual pension, "for past service far above and beyond the call of duty."

The American Institute of Mechanical Engineers has joined with the American Society of Electrical Engineers in recommending to the Institution of Civil Engineers of Great Britain that the Kelvin medal be awarded to Professor Arthur E. Kennelly, of Harvard Engineering School, for his research in fields so widely explored by the late Lord Kelvin. The award, which is given every three years, was created in 1902 to commemorate Lord Kelvin's researches in ocean telegraphy and electrical measuring devices. The Institution of Civil Engineers of Great Britain accords the American engineering societies the privilege of nominating persons to receive the award.

MANCHESTER UNIVERSITY proposes to confer an honorary degree of doctor of science upon Sir Ronald Ross in recognition of his work in the prevention of malaria. It is proposed that the degree shall be conferred at the university's commemoration of Founder's Day on May 15, which is two days after his seventy-second birthday.

The degree of doctor of science will be conferred by the University of Dublin in July on Dr. Francis William Aston, F.R.S., of Trinity College, Cambridge.

Dr. Adolf Schmidt, formerly director of the meteorological magnetic observatory at Potsdam, and Dr. Hans Spemann, professor of zoology in the University of Freiburg (im Breisgau), have been elected corresponding members of the Prussian Academy of Sciences, and Dr. Edwin Schroedinger, professor of theoretical physics, has been elected to membership.

Dr. Max von Laue, professor of theoretical physics in the University of Berlin, and Dr. Arnold Sommerfeld, professor of theoretical physics in the University of Munich, have been elected honorary members of the Leningrad Academy of Sciences.

Seven members of the new Italian Academy in the section of mathematics and physical sciences have been appointed by the king of Italy as follows: Professor Filippo Bottazzi, who for many years occupied