## SOCIETIES AND ACADEMIES

## THE NORTHWEST SCIENTIFIC ASSO-CIATION

THE fifth annual meeting of the Northwest Scientific Association was held at Spokane, Washington, in the Davenport Hotel, on Thursday and Friday, December 27 and 28, 1928, under the presidency of Dr. E. A. Bryan, of the State College of Washington. The meetings were attended by 142 members, as well as by a considerable number of visitors.

At the opening meeting on December 27 Dr. Alfred Atkinson, president of the Montana State College, Bozeman, Montana, delivered an address on "The Effect of Changed Environment upon a Pure Line of Plants." A luncheon of the association was held at noon of the first day at which Major John D. Guthrie. assistant district forester, Portland, Oregon, spoke upon the topic, "The National Forests; their Part in State Development." In the afternoon a general medical session was held, and in the evening at 6:30 members met for the annual dinner in the Elizabethan Rooms of the Davenport Hotel. At this time the address of the retiring president, Mr. L. K. Armstrong, of Spokane, Washington, was given, the subject being "The Northwest Scientific Association: a Vision of the Future." H. V. Carpenter, dean of the school of engineering. State College of Washington, spoke on "The Rising Status of Industrial Research," after which were shown moving pictures of the construction of the Cascade bore on the line of the Great Northern Railway.

A luncheon was held also on the second day of the meeting and an address was delivered by Dr. Francis A. Thomson, president of the State School of Mines, Butte, Montana, on the topic, "The Gold Production of the Early Placers of the Northwest."

In addition to the general sessions section meetings were held on both days by the following groups: Botany-Zoology, Chemistry-Physics, Education-Psychology, Engineering, Forestry, Geology-Geography, Plant Pathology and Social Science.

At the annual business meeting on December 28 in addition to the usual resolutions a resolution was passed in appreciation of the services of the late Dr. J. E. Kirkwood in the development of the association.

A report of a special committee named to redraft by-laws relating to membership was approved by the organization. This report provided for four types of membership in addition to the ordinary membership, namely, institutional memberships, life memberships, supporting memberships and patrons.

The secretary reported that the association had been regularly incorporated under the laws of the state of Washington, with headquarters at Spokane. The following officers were elected:

President: Dr. John Kostalek, State University, Moscow,

Vice-President: Dr. Francis A. Thomson, president, State School of Mines, Butte, Montana.

Secretary-Treasurer: J. W. Hungate, State Normal School, Cheney, Washington.

Councilor (five years): Dr. C. C. Todd, State College of Washington, Pullman, Washington.

Councilor, to fill unexpired term of Dr. Kostalek: Dean Ivan C. Crawford, State University, Moscow, Idaho.

Trustee (three years): Dr. M. A. Brannon, chancellor, University of Montana, Helena, Montana.

J. W. Hungate, Secretary-Treasurer

## THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Indiana Academy of Science held its forty-fourth annual meeting at Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, on December 6, 7 and 8, 1928.

The officers in this meeting were as follows:

President, E. G. Mahin, Notre Dame; vice-president, Walter N. Hess, Port Clinton, N. Y.; secretary, Ray C. Friesner, Indianapolis; assistant secretary, W. P. Morgan, Indianapolis; treasurer, M. W. Lyon, Jr., South Bend; editor, John J. Davis, Lafayette.

The meetings of the academy proper were preceded by the annual informal meeting of the entomologists of Indiana on December 6. At the regular meetings of the academy the number of papers presented in the various sections were as follows: botany, twentynine; chemistry and bacteriology, fourteen; geology and geography, nineteen; physics and mathematics, sixteen, and zoology, eighteen.

The annual public address was given by the president of the academy, Dr. E. G. Mahin, professor of analytical chemistry and metallurgy at the University of Notre Dame. Dr. Mahin spoke on "Metals and the Microscope," and illustrated his address with many excellent photomicrographic slides.

The officers elected for the ensuing year were:

President, Louis G. Rettger, Indiana State Normal School, Terre Haute; vice-president, J. A. Nieuwland, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame; secretary, Ray C. Friesner, Butler University, Indianapolis; assistant secretary, W. P. Morgan, Indiana Central University, Indianapolis; treasurer, M. W. Lyon, Jr., South Bend; editor, John J. Davis, Purdue University, Lafayette; press secretary, Harry F. Dietz, Department of Conservation, Indianapolis.

The next annual meeting will be held at Earlham College, Richmond, Indiana.

HARRY F. DIETZ
Press Secretary

INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE