United States to-day. (2) The essays must be typed and must not exceed 3,000 words, exclusive of a summary of conclusions which should be presented at the beginning of the paper.

(3) The contest is open to any individual who desires to compete.

(4) Essays should not be signed by the author's real name but by a pseudonym. This pseudonym should be placed on the outside of an envelope containing the author's real name and transmitted with the essay.

(5) The winning essays shall be published in the *Journal of Forestry*. The Committee of Award shall have the right to select from the other essays those which it deems worthy of publication and they will be published also in the *Journal of Forestry*. The remainder of the essays will be returned to the authors if they request their return and provide postage.

(6) The Committee of Award reserves the right to withhold the prize providing no essays which are in its judgment worthy of the award are received.

(7) All essays submitted in the contest should be forwarded to either of the two members of the Committee of Award, namely, S. T. Dana, School of Forestry and Conservation, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and Raphael Zon, Lake States Forest Experiment Station, University Farm, St. Paul, Minnesota, in time to reach them not later than September 30. The awards will be announced at the annual meeting of the Society of American Foresters in December, 1929.

> P. G. REDINGTON, President of the Society of American Foresters

WALTER RATHBONE BACON SCHOLARSHIP

UNDER the terms of the will of the late Virginia Purdy Bacon, of New York, the Smithsonian Institution some years since was bequeathed the sum of \$50,000 to establish a traveling scholarship as a memorial to her husband, Walter Rathbone Bacon, for the study of the fauna of countries other than the United States. The amount available is the interest on the capital invested (about \$3,000 a year), the incumbent to hold the scholarship not less than two years.

The institution has decided to offer an additional scholarship in 1929.

Applications for this scholarship, addressed to the secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, should be submitted not later than April 15. The application should contain a detailed plan for the proposed study, including a statement as to the faunal problems involved; the reasons why it should be undertaken; the benefits that are expected to accrue; the length of time considered necessary for the carrying out of the project; the estimated cost, and the scientific and physical qualifications of the applicant to undertake the project.

The scholarship will be awarded for a term of two years. If at the expiration of the term it is desired to extend the time, the incumbent shall make application a sufficient time in advance, accompanied by a statement as to the necessity for such extension.

All collections, photographs, records and equipment become the property of the institution.

The incumbent shall not engage in work for remuneration or receive salary from other sources than the institution or its branches during the period of occupancy of the scholarship.

> C. G. Abbot, Secretary

RESEARCH ON THE ALLOYS OF IRON

An extended research in alloys of iron is planned by the Engineering Foundation in cooperation with the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers.

The industries, universities and technical schools, bureaus of the United States government, scientific organizations and foreign agencies will aid. Practically all industries are affected. The initial task is a critical five-year review of all available literature in English and other languages, resulting in a series of monographs and manuals, which will be published at a cost of \$150,000.

Following a conference of representatives of makers and users of irons and steels, technical societies, government bureaus and universities, headed by J. V. W. Reynders, a committee on alloys of iron research has been appointed. The chairman is Dr. John Johnston, director of research and technology of the United States Steel Corporation. Other members of the committee are: F. M. Becker, president of the Union Carbide and Carbon Research Laboratories; H. W. Gillett, chief of the division of metallurgy, U. S. Bureau of Standards; James T. MacKenzie, metallurgist and chief chemist of the American Cast Iron Pipe Company; A. J. Wadhams, manager of research and development of the International Nickel Company.

Mr. Alfred D. Flinn, of the Foundation, has issued a statement in which he points out that "the future progress of the American iron and steel industry will be greatly affected by its ability to maintain a strong position in alloy irons and steels. It has taken forty or fifty years to develop the present state of the art for carbon steels through contributions from time to time by those engaged in iron and steel manufactures. The world is moving too fast to await a similar deliberate development for alloy irons and steels. The time appears opportune for cooperative research to be