One of the first acts of the association will be the organization of a board of directors composed of twelve industrial executives. This newly created board, which was established in recognition of the increasing part which executives are playing in the standardization movement, will control the general administration and policies of the association. The old main committee, made up of representatives of all the member-bodies, now becomes The Standards Council, and in its hands will rest all matters connected with the adoption and approval of national standards.

The officers of the association are, in addition to Mr. Serrill: Vice-president, Cloyd Chapman; secretary, P. G. Agnew, and assistant secretary, F. J. Schlink. The advisory committee of industrial executives includes: J. A. Farrell, president of the U. S. Steel Corporation, chairman; George B. Cortelyou, president of the Consolidated Gas Company; John W. Lieb, senior vice-president of the New York Edison Company; L. F. Loree, president of the Delaware and Hudson Company, and Gerard Swope, president of the General Electric Company.

The American Engineering Standards Committee was organized in 1917 by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Mining Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. and the American Society of Testing Materials. The purpose of the organization was to provide a method of cooperation which would prevent duplication in standardization work and the promulgation of conflicting standards. The United States Government Departments of War. Navy and Commerce became members of the committee in 1919. New members were from time to time added until at the time of the present reorganization there were 37 member-bodies. There are in addition 350 sustaining members, including manufacturers, distributors, associations, etc.

THE ASSOCIATION OF CONSULTING CHEM-ISTS AND CHEMICAL ENGINEERS

A GROUP of the leading professional consultants representative of all branches of chemistry and chemical engineering met recently at the Chemists' Club in New York to perfect the organization of the Association of Consulting Chemists and Chemical Engineers.

Dr. Alexander O. Gettler emphasized the importance to the public of the following points in the Code of Ethics:

Every individual on entering the Association of Consulting Chemists and Chemical Engineers, and thereby becoming entitled to full professional membership, incurs an obligation to advance the science and art of chemistry and chemical engineering, to guard and uphold its high standard of honor, and to conform to the principles of professional conduct. He shall refrain from associating with or allowing the use of his name by any enterprise of questionable character. If, in his opinion, work requested of him by clients seems to present improbability of successful results, he shall so advise before undertaking the work. He shall be conservative in all estimates, reports, testimony, etc., and especially so if these are in connection with the promotion of a business enterprise. He shall be diligent in exposing and opposing such errors and frauds as his special knowledge enables him to recognize.

As stated by Dr. Louis P. Hammett in discussing the report of the committee on constitution, the objects of the organization are:

By all proper means to advance the science and practice of consulting chemistry and chemical engineering; to further the service of the profession to its clients, to the public, and to all branches of the government; and to promote friendly intercourse and cooperation among its members so that their welfare be furthered, and the highest ethical standards of the profession be maintained.

Others who spoke were: Dr. D. P. Morgan, Jr., Dr. Alvin C. Purdy, Louis O. Bergh, Russell Raynor, Irving C. Bull, Henry E. Cutts, Ludwig Saarbach, Joseph Geisler, Harry P. Trevithick, Clarence P. Harris, George H. Walden, Jr., and Emil Schlichting. Following this general discussion the constitution

and by-laws were unanimously adopted.

The following officers were elected: *President*, Hal T. Beans, of Columbia University; *vice-president*, Irving Hochstadter, of Hochstadter Laboratories; *secretary*, Clarence V. Ekroth, of Ekroth Laboratories, and *treasurer*, Jerome Alexander. The following were elected directors: Charles V. Bacon, Frank C. Gephart, Robert Schwarz, of the Schwarz Laboratories; Albert M. Smoot, of Ledoux and Co.; Albert G. Stillwell, of the Stillwell Laboratories; Arthur W. Thomas, of Columbia University, John Morris Weiss, of Weiss and Downs, and Thomas A. Wright, of Lucius Pitkin.

BIBLIOTHECA MATHEMATICA

IN December, 1920, in a communication to Professor D. E. Smith, the late Dr. Gustav Eneström expressed the hope that the publication of the *Bibliotheca Mathematica* might be continued in the United States, it having been discontinued in Europe in 1915. Prompted by this request, the Mathematical Association of America made a serious effort to raise a subsidy fund for this purpose, but was unsuccessful. Now, however, it is hoped to carry out this project on a largely self-supporting subscription basis, and the association has sent out a communication which says: