Richard E. Scammon, University of Minnesota, for exhibit illustrating growth and structure of the human body.

Harry Steenbock, University of Wisconsin, for an exhibit illustrating the results of studies of vitamin D.

CLASS II

[Awards in Class II made for exhibits which do not exemplify purely experimental studies, and which were judged on the basis of the excellence of correlating facts and excellence of presentation.]

The gold medal to Walter M. Simpson, Miami Valley Hospital, Dayton, Ohio, for exhibit of the gross and microscopic changes in tularemia and for excellence of presentation.

The silver medal to Arthur J. Bedell, Albany, N. Y., for an instructive exhibit of stereophotographs of the living eye.

The bronze medal to O. E. Denny, National Leprosarium, Carville, La., for excellent exhibit of color photographs illustrating various manifestations of leprosy.

Certificates of merit, Class II, to the following (alphabetically arranged):

John O. Bower and Jefferson H. Clark, Samaritan Hospital, Philadelphia, for exhibit of skin prints in the diagnosis of cancer of the breast.

Dr. T. Horton, Mayo Clinic and Foundation, Rochester, Minn., for exhibit illustrating pyloric block.

David Steel, Cleveland City Hospital and Western Reserve University, Cleveland, for exhibit illustrating roentgenologic and anatomic observations in cardiac diseases.

Honorable mention was made to the following:

C. Latimer Callender, San Francisco, and Cyrus Newton Callender, Fargo, N. D., for exhibit of surgical anatomic drawings.

James T. Case and W. O. Upson, Battle Creek, Mich., for roentgenographic exhibit of cholecystography.

Robert A. Moore and Earnest Scott, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, for exhibit illustrating cardiovascular diseases.

Leo G. Rigler, University of Minnesota, for exhibit showing relation of esophagus and heart and aorta.

Fred D. Weidman, Zoological Society of Philadelphia, for exhibit illustrating comparative helminthology.

The committee made special mention of Benjamin Terry, Albert E. Sterne and Harry Spiro, for the excellence of personal demonstrations.

EDUCATIONAL EXHIBITS

A special certificate of merit was awarded to the U.S. Pharmacopeial convention for the best exhibit in the educational (national organizations) classifications. Mention was also made of the exhibit of the Committee on the Grading of Nursing Schools.

NATIONAL RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS IN THE BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

THE Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences, in meeting on May 25 and 26, awarded fellowships to the following individuals:

Reappointments

Dean Turner Burk, Biochemistry
David R. Briggs, Zoology
James M. Fife, Botany
Frederick H. Frost, Botany
Theodore F. Karwoski, Psychology
E. A. Swenson, Zoology

New Appointments

J. A. Gengerelli, Psychology
Helen A. Purdy, Botany
Malcolm R. Irwin, Zoology
Attilio Rizzolo, Psychology
D. H. Nelson, Botany
Morgan Upton, Psychology
L. H. Warner, Psychology
Wayne N. Plastridge, Botany
Samuel E. Hill, Zoology
Anna H. Gayton, Anthropology
Robert C. Robb, Zoology

The first meeting of the coming year for the consideration of applications for 1929-30 appointments, both American and foreign, will be held around the first of February. Applications for this meeting should be received by the latter part of December.

FRANK R. LILLIE, Chairman,

Board of National Research Fellowships

in the Biological Sciences

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. E. G. Conklin, professor of biology at Princeton University, will give the seventh William Thompson Sedgwick memorial lecture at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, on July 27. Dr. Conklin's subject will be "Problems of Development."

The gold medal of the Linnaean Society of New York, awarded to Dr. C. Hart Merriam, research associate of the Smithsonian Institution, was presented to Dr. Merriam by Dr. Frank M. Chapman, of the American Museum of Natural History, on May 30.

Dr. Herbert Osborn, research professor at the Ohio State University, by vote of the fellows of the Entomological Society of America has been elected to honorary fellowship in the society. Other honorary fellows are C. J. S. Bethune, J. H. Comstock, S. A. Forbes, L. O. Howard and E. A. Schwarz.

Dr. Hugh S. Cumming, surgeon-general of the United States Public Health Service, has been elected a corresponding member of the Royal Society of Medicine of Great Britain for "meritorious work and ability as a scientist and leader in public health affairs."

Dr. Thomas Barbour, director of the university museum at Harvard University, has been elected an honorary member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society.