ELECTION OF OFFICERS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

CHANGES among the central officers and the divisional chairmen of the National Research Council have recently been made, by elections, as follows: Chairman of the council. George K. Burgess, director. U. S. Bureau of Standards; third vice-chairman, Simon Flexner, director, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research: treasurer, Joseph S. Ames, dean of the college faculty, professor of physics and director of the physical laboratory, the Johns Hopkins University: chairman of the division of chemistry and chemical technology. George A. Hulett, professor of physical chemistry, Princeton University; chairman of the division of geology and geography, Arthur Keith, geologist, U. S. Geological Survey; chairman of the division of medical sciences. William Charles White, chairman, medical research committee, National Tuberculosis Association, and pathologist in charge of tuberculosis research. U. S. Hygienic Laboratory: chairman of the division of biology and agriculture, Lorande L. Woodruff, professor of protozoology, Yale University.

Present chairmen of other divisions continue as follows: Division of federal relations. George Otis Smith. director, U. S. Geological Survey; division of foreign relations. R. A. Millikan. director. Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, California Institute of Technology; division of states relations, R. A. Pearson, president, University of Maryland; division of educational relations, Vernon Kellogg, permanent secretary, National Research Council; division of physical sciences, Dayton C. Miller, professor of physics, Case School of Applied Science; division of engineering and industrial research. Elmer A. Sperry, chairman, board of directors, Sperry Gyroscope Company, Brooklyn, New York; division of anthropology and psychology, Knight Dunlap, professor of experimental psychology, the Johns Hopkins University.

> VERNON KELLOGG, Permanent Secretary

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

FIVE distinguished American engineers have been elected honorary members of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. They are Thomas A. Edison, John J. Carty, Michael I. Pupin, Ambrose Swasey and Elihu Thomson. This is the first time that any American honorary members have been elected.

For his distinguished service to humanity in the field of mathematical physics, Professor Michael I. Pupin, professor of electromechanics in Columbia University, has been elected the sixth honorary knight for life of the Loyal Knights of the Round Table, an international luncheon-friendship club, with tables in more than 65 cities in Canada and the United States. The other five "knights for life" have been Luther Burbank, Thomas A. Edison, Charles E. Hughes, Robert Andrew Millikan and Dr. Wilfred T. Grenfell.

DR. EDWARD DEAN ADAMS, New York engineer, who represented the Engineering Foundation at the dedication of the Louvain Library and the engineers' memorial carillon and clock on July 4, has received an honorary doctorate from the University of Louvain and has been made a commander of the Order of the Crown by the Belgian government.

DR. GEORGE FILLMORE SWAIN, professor of civil engineering at Harvard University, was made the recipient of the Benjamin G. Lamme medal for his contribution to the advancement of the art of technical training by the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education, in session at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Dr. Swain is the first to receive the medal, which will henceforth be awarded yearly in accordance with provisions in the will of the late Benjamin G. Lamme.

CAPTAIN SIR HUBERT WILKINS has received from the American Geographical Society the Samuel F. B. Morse gold medal for geographical research.

ACCORDING to the Journal of the American Medical Association, the California Medical Association at the recent annual meeting awarded its research prize to Drs. Phoebus Berman and William H. Leake, both of Los Angeles, for their paper on "The Effect of Emetine on the Rabbit's Heart—An Electrocardiographic Study," and the clinical prize to Dr. Cyril B. Courville, Loma Linda, for his paper on "Intracranial Neoplasms—The Principle of Transmitted Pressure in the Production of Symptoms."

F. H. ROSENCRANTZ, director of engineering, International Combustion Engineering, Ltd., was awarded the Kelvin gold medal of merit by the British Institution of Electrical Engineers in recognition of his work in the field of combustion.

THE following have been elected foreign members of the Royal Society: Professor Albert Brachet (Brussels); Professor David Hilbert (Göttingen); Professor Paul Langevin (Paris); Professor Richard Friedrich Johannes Pfeiffer (Breslau); Professor Ludwig Prandtl (Göttingen), and Professor Richard Willstätter (Munich).

SIR STCLAIR THOMSON, of London, has been elected a corresponding member of the Société de Laryngologie des Hôpitaux de Paris, of the American Stomatological Association and of the Philadelphia Laryngological Society.