1.72 gms. of this material in order to introduce 0.5 mgs. of iron—a quantity exactly equivalent to the iron fed as FeCl₃. In addition the ash of the dried beef liver was prepared by incinerating the material in porcelain dishes in an electric furnace at 650°-750° C. After incineration to an ash the ash was digested in strong HCl for six hours at room temperature, diluted with water and the insoluble residue filtered off. The filtrate was evaporated almost to dryness, taken up with water, and diluted to a volume, 1 cc. of which was equivalent to 1.0 mg. of Fe. This solution was not perfectly clear.

This HCl extract of liver ash was fed to anemic rats at a level which introduced 0.5 mgs. of Fe daily. It was administered by directly stirring it into a portion of the daily allowance of whole milk. The results from the use of these materials in contrast with the FeCl₃ from iron wire were indeed very striking and showed unmistakably that 0.5 mgs. of iron from these sources is distinctly potent in restoring to normal the hemoglobin content of the blood of anemic rats. The detailed data which led us to the above conclusions, together with a further analysis of this problem, will be published later. At this time we only wish to re-emphasize the fact that nutritional anemia induced by a whole-milk diet is an inorganic deficiency and that the ash of liver as well as the ash of certain plant materials is a potent source of the correctives.

J. WADDELL C. A. ELVEHJEM H. STEENBOCK E. B. HART

THE LABORATORY OF AGRICULTURAL CHEMISTRY, UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN

SOCIETIES AND ACADEMIES

THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

At the annual meeting of the Geological Society of America, held in Cleveland, December 29, 30 and 31, 1927, the following officers were elected for the year 1928:

President: Bailey Willis, Stanford University.

First Vice-president: Alfred C. Lane, Tufts College.

Second Vice-president: William H. Collins, Geological

Survey of Canada.

Third Vice-president: August F. Foerste, Dayton, Ohio. Fourth Vice-president: Esper S. Larsen, Harvard University.

Secretary: Charles P. Berkey, Columbia University.

Treasurer: Edward B. Mathews, The Johns Hopkins
University.

Editor: Joseph Stanley-Brown, New York, N. Y.

Councilors (1928-1930): George B. Mansfield, United States Geological Survey; William E. Wrather, Dallas. Texas.

Thirty-one fellows were also elected, bringing the total membership to 559.

The Cleveland meeting had the largest attendance in the history of the society, with a registration of 374. One hundred and eight titles of papers were listed on the program, and four general addresses were delivered. Abstracts of all papers presented had been printed and distributed in advance of the meeting.

The Penrose medal, given for outstanding achievement in geologic science, was presented to Prof. Thomas Chrowder Chamberlin, of Chicago.

The annual meeting of 1928 will be held in New York City.

CHARLES P. BERKEY, Secretary

INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Indiana Academy of Science held its 43rd annual meeting at the University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana, on December 1, 2 and 3, 1927.

The officers in this meeting were as follows: President, Frank B. Wade, Indianapolis; Vice-president, F. J. Breeze, Muncie; Secretary, Ray C. Friesner, Indianapolis; Asst. Secretary, W. P. Morgan, Indianapolis; Treasurer, M. W. Lyon, Jr., South Bend; Editor, John J. Davis, Lafayette; Press Secretary, Harry F. Dietz, Indianapolis.

The meetings of the academy proper were preceded by the annual informal meeting of the entomologists of Indiana on December 1. At the regular meetings of the academy the number of papers presented in the various sections were as follows: general, 6; bacteriology, physiology and hygiene, 6; botany, 27; chemistry, mathematics and physics, 35; geology and geography, 18, and zoology, 16.

The annual public lecture was given by Dr. Wilfred H. Osgood, curator of zoology, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, who spoke on "Nature and Man in Abyssinia," illustrating his lecture with motion and still pictures.

The officers elected for the ensuing year were: President, E. G. Mahin, Notre Dame University, Notre Dame; Vice-president, W. N. Hess, DePauw University, Greencastle; Secretary, Ray C. Friesner, Butler College, Indianapolis; Asst. Secretary, W. P. Morgan, Indiana Central University, Indianapolis; Treasurer, M. W. Lyon, Jr., South Bend; Editor, John J. Davis, Purdue University, Lafayette; Press Secretary, Harry F. Dietz, Department of Conservation, Indianapolis.

HARRY F. DIETZ,

Press Secretary