standards. In addition, the correlation of the work of the federal specifications boards with commercial practice, and liaison duties with other branches of the Department of Commerce and with other departments in questions relating to commercial standards will be included in this group.

Dr. Briggs will act as executive head of the bureau when the director is absent in the management and supervision of the administration, scientific and technical work. He will also continue as liaison officer on matters of aeronautics between the Bureau of Standards, the aeronautics branch of the Department of Commerce and other branches of the government.

DIVISION CHAIRMEN OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE following chairmen of divisions of the National Research Council have been appointed for the current academic year:

Division of Federal Relations, George Otis Smith, director, U. S. Geological Survey.

Division of Foreign Relations, R. A. Millikan, director, Norman Bridge laboratory of physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Division of States Relations, Raymond A. Pearson, president, University of Maryland.

Division of Educational Relations, Vernon Kellogg, permanent secretary, National Research Council.

Division of Physical Sciences, Dayton C. Miller, professor of physics, Case School of Applied Science.

Division of Engineering and Industrial Research, Elmer A. Sperry, president, Sperry Gyroscope Company, Brooklyn, New York.

Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Frank C. Whitmore, professor of chemistry, Northwestern University.

Division of Geology and Geography, Waldemar Lindgren, professor of economic geology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Division of Medical Sciences, Howard T. Karsner, professor of pathology, Western Reserve University.

Division of Biology and Agriculture, William Crocker, director, Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research, Yonkers, New York.

Division of Anthropology and Psychology, Knight Dunlap, professor of experimental psychology, the Johns Hopkins University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Harben gold medal of the Royal Institute of Public Health for 1928 has been awarded to Sir Ronald Ross in recognition of his eminent services to public health.

THE Morris Liebmann memorial prize of \$500, for 1927, has been awarded to Dr. A. Hoyt Taylor, of

the Naval Research Laboratory, in Washington, according to an announcement by Dr. Ralph Bown, president of the Institute of Radio Engineers, at a meeting of the institute held in the Engineering Societies' Building, New York, on October 4.

THE Helen Culver gold medal of the Geographic Society of Chicago has been awarded to Dr. Gilbert H. Grosvenor, president of the National Geographic Society and editor of its magazine. The medal is for eminent accomplishments in the promotion of geography.

In recognition of his scientific work in the domain of pathology, Dr. Louis B. Wilson, of the Mayo Clinic, has been elected an honorary member of the Czech Medical Society of Prague. This society was founded by the famous physiologist, J. E. Purkinje, who was its president until his death in 1869.

Dr. EDWARD R. WEIDLEIN, director of the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research, University of Pittsburgh, has been elected an honorary member of the Chemical, Metallurgical and Mining Society of South Africa.

Nature states that in the course of the Congress of the Institut International d'Anthropologie, which was held at Amsterdam from September 20 to 27, it was announced that the Prix Hollandais of the institut had been awarded to Miss Dorothy A. E. Garrod in recognition of her work in prehistoric archeology, and especially for her excavation of the cave at the Devil's Tower, Gibraltar.

Professor Vittorio Ascoli, director of the Clinica Medica of Rome, has received from the University of Edinburgh the degree of doctor honoris causa.

Professor Forest Ray Moulton, director of the department of astronomy of the University of Chicago, has resigned to become associated in an executive capacity with the Utilities Power and Light Corporation of Chicago.

Dr. Montrose T. Burrows has resigned as head of the research department of the Barnard Free Skin and Cancer Hospital.

C. F. Marbut, in charge of soil survey work, U. S. Bureau of Chemistry and Soils, has been appointed a member of the interbureau corn-borer committee by Dr. A. F. Woods, director of scientific work. This committee, whose object it is to determine what aid the various bureaus of the department may give in the corn-borer control work, includes representatives of the Bureaus of Plant Industry, Public Roads, Animal Industry, Agricultural Economics, Dairy Industry, Extension Service, Chemistry and Soils and Entomology.