charitable or benevolent uses. The court pointed out that the statute does not provide for the legality of bequests given for research work, but said:

Research is the method used by modern universities and scientific foundations to increase the sum of human knowledge. Research conducted for such purpose and by such institutions is clearly "educational" and "benevolent" within the meaning of the statute. Not every charitable, educational or benevolent use is enumerated in the Statute of Elizabeth, although that statute was intended to limit the trusts for charitable uses, which might be enforced by a court of equity. Conceptions of public charity, benevolence and education change with passing generations.

ORGANIZATION OF THE ROCKEFELLER FOUNDATION

THE following are the members and officers of the Rockefeller Foundation for 1927 under a new plan of organization:

Members: John G. Agar, John W. Davis, David L. Edsall, Simon Flexner, Raymond B. Fosdick, Herbert S. Hadley, Charles E. Hughes, Vernon Kellogg, John D. Rockefeller, Jr., Wickliffe Rose, Julius Rosenwald, Martin A. Ryerson, Frederick Strauss, George E. Vincent, George H. Whipple, William Allen White, Ray Lyman Wilbur.

Officers: John D. Rockefeller, Jr., Chairman of Board of Trustees; George E. Vincent, President; Edwin R. Embree, Vice-President in New York office; Roger S. Greene, Vice-President in the Far East; Selskar M. Gunn, Vice-President in Europe; Frederick F. Russell, M.D., Director International Health Division; Richard M. Pearce, M.D., Director Division of Medical Education; Norma S. Thompson, Secretary; Louis G. Myers, Treasurer; George J. Beal, Comptroller.

Executive Committee: The President, Chairman; John G. Agar, Simon Flexner, Raymond B. Fosdick, Vernon Kellogg, Wickliffe Rose, Frederick Strauss, Norma S. Thompson, Secretary.

International Health Division: The President, Chairman; Simon Flexner, Vernon Kellogg, Wickliffe Rose, William Allen White.

Division of Medical Education: The President, Chairman; David L. Edsall, Frederick Strauss, George H. Whipple, Ray Lyman Wilbur.

Finance Committee: John D. Rockefeller, Jr., Chairman; Raymond B. Fosdick, Frederick Strauss.

The Foundation holds regular meetings in February and November. The executive committee holds monthly meetings.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Osiris Prize for science amounting to \$4,000, which is bestowed every five years by a committee representing five academies, has been awarded to Dr. Charles Nicolle, director of the Pasteur Institute in Tunis, for his researches on exanthematous typhus and recurrent fever and their mode of transmission by parasites; also for his researches on serotherapy in measles and scarlet fever, especially the injection of convalescents' serum.

THE Royal Society of Edinburgh has elected as honorary British fellows: Sir William Bragg, Sir David Bruce, Sir J. B. Farmer and Sir F. G. Hopkins. Foreign honorary fellows have been elected as follows: Niels Bohr, professor of physics, University of Copenhagen; Jules Bordet, professor of bacteriology, University of Brussels; Albert Einstein, professor of mathematical physics, University of Berlin; Hans Horst Meyer, emeritus professor of pharmacology, University of Vienna; Johannes Schmidt, Carlsberg Laboratory, Copenhagen, and Richard Willstätter, professor of chemistry, University of Munich.

THE commission for a portrait of Sir Berkeley Moynihan, president of the Royal College of Surgeons, has been placed by the Moynihan Portrait Fund Committee with Mr. Richard Jack, R. A., who has also been given a commission for a replica.

PROFESSOR EDWARD SKINNER KING, of the Harvard College Observatory, was granted the honorary degree of doctor of science by Hamilton College, at its recent commencement exercises.

DR. GUY L. NOVES, dean of the school of medicine and director of the University Hospitals, of the University of Missouri, was the guest of honor at a luncheon in Boston recently, given by the University of Missouri men who are finishing their course in medicine in Harvard University.

Dr. CASSIUS J. KEYSER, who has been connected with the mathematical department of Columbia University since 1896, when he was awarded the degree of A.M., since 1904 Adrain professor of mathematics, has become professor emeritus.

PROFESSOR J. A. MACWILLIAM has retired from the chair of physiology in the University of Aberdeen which he has filled for a period of forty-one years.

AT a recent meeting of the British Institution of Electrical Engineers, Mr. A. Page was elected president and Captain J. M. Donaldson, vice-president, to take office on September 30.

DR. K. NAKAMURA, president of the Tokyo Higher Technical School and for a number of years head of its department of electrical engineering, was recently elected president of the Japanese Institute of Electrical Engineers.

DR. MASUJIRO NISHIBE, of the laboratory for infec-