ELECTIONS OF THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

SCIENCE

AT the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences the following were elected foreign honorary members:

Francis Crawford Burkitt, of Cambridge, England Henry Hallett Dale, of London Peter Debye, of Zurich Léon Duguit, of Bordeaux Willem Einthoven, of Leyden Ejnar Hertzsprung, of Leyden Vincent d'Indy, of Paris Victor Laloux, of Paris Friedrich von Mueller, of Munich Gilbert Murray, of Oxford Henri Rabaud, of Paris Josef Redlich, of Vienna Richard Wettstein, of Vienna

At the same time the active membership of the academy was increased by the admission of thirtyfive fellows. These are:

Kenneth Daniel Blackfan, of Brookline Robert Pierpont Blake, of Cambridge George Whitefield Chadwick, of Boston William John Crozier, of Cambridge Philip Drinker, of Brookline Gordon Maskew Fair, of Cambridge William Cameron Forbes, of Norwood James Lawder Gamble, of Brookline Wallace Goodrich, of Boston Harvey Monroe Hall, of Berkeley Arthur Norman Holcombe, of Cambridge Earnest Albert Hooton, of Cambridge Charles Hopkinson, of Manchester Percy Rogers Howe, of Boston Ivan Murray Johnston, of Cambridge Alfred Vincent Kidder, of Andover Donald Hamilton McLaughlin, of Cambridge James Howard Means, of Boston Axel Leonard Melander, of New York George James Peirce, of Stanford University, Calif. Frederick Haven Pratt, of Dedham Joseph Hersey Pratt, of Boston Edwin Arlington Robinson, of New York Allan Winter Rowe, of Boston George Sarton, of Cambridge Andrew Watson Sellards, of Brookline John Clarke Slater, of Cambridge Willard Learoyd Sperry, of Cambridge Harlan True Stetson, of Cambridge Edmund C. Tarbell, of Boston Langdon Warner, of Cambridge Joseph Treloar Wearn, of Boston Robert Spurr Weston, of Boston Westel Woodbury Willoughby, of Baltimore Quincy Wright, of Chicago

One associate was elected: Nathaniel T. Kidder, of Milton. The officers chosen for the year 1927-28 are:

President: EDWIN B. WILSON Vice-president for Class I: ARTHUR E. KENNELLY Vice-president for Class II: GEORGE H. PARKER Vice-president for Class III: GEORGE L. KITTREDGE Corresponding Secretary: ROBERT P. BIGELOW Recording Secretary: CHARLES B. GULICK Treasurer: INGERSOLL BOWDITCH Librarian: HARRY M. GOODWIN Editor: WILLIAM S. FRANKLIN

THE MEDAL MEETING OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE Medal Meeting of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, was held on Wednesday afternoon, May 18. Presentation of medals was made according to the following program:

Longstreth medals to Mr. Wilfred Lewis, of the Tabor Manufacturing Company, and Mr. James F. Smathers, Smathers Power Typewriting Company.

The Wetherill medal to North East Appliances, Inc., with special mention of Mr. Russell G. Thompson.

The Levy medal to Dr. William David Coolidge, of the General Electric Company.

Potts medals to George Earle Beggs, associate professor of civil engineering, Princeton University, and Commander Marion Eppley, of the Eppley Scientific Laboratories.

Cresson medals to Dr. Edward Learnington Nichols, professor emeritus of physics, Cornell University, and Dr. Dayton Clarence Miller, research professor of physics, Case School of Applied Science.

The Franklin medal and certificate of honorary membership to Professor Max Planck, of the University of Berlin. Received by the Counselor of Embassy, Dr. O. C. Kiep, the German Embassy, Washington, D. C.

The Franklin medal and certificate of honorary membership to Dr. George Ellery Hale, honorary director, Mt. Wilson Observatory. Received by Dr. Harlow Shapley, professor of astronomy and director of the Harvard College Observatory, Harvard University.

After the presentation of the medals the following papers were read:

"The Physical Reality of Light Quanta," by Professor Max Planck. Presented by Professor T. D. Cope, University of Pennsylvania.

"The Sun as a Research Laboratory," by Dr. George Ellery Hale. Presented by Professor Harlow Shapley, Harvard University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. GEORGE H. F. NUTTALL, professor of parasitology in the University of Cambridge, has been made professor, *honoris causa*, in the University of Strasbourg.