man Andrews and Robert Henderson, New York; Arthur P. Davis, Oakland, Calif.; Joseph Erlanger, St. Louis; Irving Fisher and William Lyon Phelps, Yale University; Paul Darwin Foote and Gerrit S. Miller, Jr., U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington; Tenney Frank, Baltimore; Frank Pierrepont Graves, Albany, N. Y.; B. Smith Hopkins, University of Illinois; Dr. Max L. Margolis, Dr. Thomas Lynch Montgomery, Dr. J. Parsons Schaeffer and Albert S. Weimer, Philadelphia.

ELECTIONS BY THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

DR. THOMAS HUNT MORGAN, professor of experimental zoology in Columbia University, was elected president of the National Academy of Sciences at the recent annual meeting held in Washington. Professor Morgan succeeds Professor Albert A. Michelson, of the University of Chicago, for a four-year term. The only other living past president of the academy is Dr. William H. Welch, of the Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Frederick E. Wright, of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, was elected vice-president, in succession to Dr. John C. Merriam, president of the Carnegie Institution. Dr. David White, of the U. S. Geological Survey, was reelected home secretary. As members of the council there were elected Dr. George E. Hale, Dr. John C. Merriam and Dr. J. McKeen Cattell. Members were elected as follows:

Eric Temple Bell, professor of mathematics, California Institute of Technology.

Charles Peter Berkey, professor of geology, Columbia University.

William Bowie, chief of the division of geodesy, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Arthur Holly Compton, professor of physics, University of Chicago.

Benjamin Minge Duggar, botanist of the Missouri Botanical Gardens.

Thomas Alva Edison.

Rollins Adams Emerson, professor of plant breeding, Cornell University.

Herbert McLean Evans, professor of anatomy, University of California.

William King Gregory, curator of paleontology, the American Museum of Natural History.

Edwin Powell Hubble, astronomer, Mt. Wilson Observatory.

Claude Silbert Hudson, chemist, U. S. Bureau of Standards.

Alfred Newton Richards, professor of pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania.

Francis Peyton Rous, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

Albert Sauveur, professor of metallurgy, Harvard University.

Henry Van Peters Wilson, professor of zoology, University of North Carolina.

As foreign associates there were elected:

Paul Sabatier, professor of chemistry, University of Toulouse.

Godfrey Harold Hardy, Savillian professor of geometry, University of Oxford.

Carl Stumpf, emeritus professor of philosophy, University of Berlin.

At the meeting of the executive board of the National Research Council of the National Academy. the following general officers were elected: Chairman, Gano Dunn, president of the J. G. White Engineering Corporation, New York City; first vicechairman, T. H. Morgan, president-elect of the National Academy of Sciences; second vice-chairman, John C. Merriam, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington; third vice-chairman, R. A. Millikan, California Institute of Technology. The permanent secretary, Dr. Vernon Kellogg, and the treasurer, Dr. George K. Burgess, director of the Bureau of Standards, continue in these offices. To replace vacancies occurring in the membership at large of the executive board, James F. Norris, professor of organic chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; F. R. Moulton, professor of astronomy, University of Chicago, and John R. Freeman, consulting engineer, Providence, were elected.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Max Weber, emeritus professor of zoology at the University of Amsterdam, an authority on marine mammals and fish and for many years engaged in oceanographic work, has been awarded the Agassiz Medal by the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Charles S. Howe, president of the Case School of Applied Science, was awarded the Cleveland Medal for outstanding service in the public interest at the annual banquet of the Cleveland Chamber of Commerce held on April 19. Dr. Howe has been connected continuously with the school for the past thirty-eight years, taking the chair of mathematics and astronomy in 1899. In 1902 he succeeded Dr. Cady Staley as the second president.

Dr. Hideyo Noguchi, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, has been elected a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences of Denmark.

THE medical faculty of Freiburg University has conferred the distinction of doctor *honoris causa* on Tatsukichi Irisawa, professor of internal medicine at Tokyo.

AT a meeting of the Medical Society of London, held on March 28, the following were elected honorary