Sir Ronald Ross, Sir William Simpson, Sir Arthur Shipley, Dr. Andrew Balfour, Major E. E. Austen, Sir James Crichton-Browne, Dr. G. A. K. Marshall, Dr. C. M. Wenyon and other entomologists familiar with the mosquito pest, and the chairman is Sir Richard Gregory. The address of the institute is Hayling Island, Hampshire.

## PUBLIC LECTURES AT THE SCHOOL OF TROPICAL MEDICINE OF THE UNI-VERSITY OF PORTO RICO

DURING the present (first) session of the school of tropical medicine of the University of Porto Rico and Columbia University, at San Juan, the following public lectures by visiting scientists were given:

January 11. The environment: Professor E. B. Phelps, of the De Lamar Institute of Public Health, Columbia University.

February 4 and 9. Schistosomiasis, trypanosomiasis, and pulmonary distomatosis in Venezuela: Dr. Juan Iturbe, Caracas.

February 22 and 25. Bonds of union between tropical medicine and general medicine, and relationship between Weil's disease and yellow fever: Dr. A. W. Sellards, associate professor of tropical medicine, Harvard University.

March 2. Investigations on rickets in New Haven, Conn., and in Porto Rico, with special reference to the effects of sunlight: Dr. Martha Eliot, of the Children's Bureau, U. S. Department of Labor, and the Yale Medical School.

March 8. Experimental epidemiology: Dr. Simon Flexner, director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York.

The last lecture of the series was to be given on May 3 by Dr. James W. Jobling, professor of pathology in Columbia University, on "Blood Destruction with Special Reference to the Influence of Diet."

R. A. LAMBERT,

Director

## THE ONE THOUSANDTH MEETING OF THE ENTOMOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY

On May 28 there will occur an event of interest to many entomologists in this and in other countries: the one thousandth meeting of Jugatae, the entomological society of Cornell University. The society was founded on February 26, 1897, and has been an important factor in encouraging research in entomology at Cornell throughout its history.

The members of Jugatae are chiefly graduate students in entomology and members of the department. During the thirty years of its existence it has included students from all parts of the world, twenty-six countries having been represented at one time or another.

At present there are sixty active members representing Canada, Porto Rico, Chile, Hawaii, the Philippine Islands, Spain, Poland, Australia and China, as well as many of the states of our Union. A full list of prominent entomologists and biologists who have attended meetings would be much too long for presentation here but would include from our own country Dr. L. O. Howard, Dr. W. M. Wheeler, Dr. S. A. Forbes, Dr. Herbert Osborn, Dr. Vernon Kellogg, and from other countries Dr. William Bateson, Dr. Paul Marchal, Dr. Arthur Gibson and Dr. I. J. Tillyard.

Jugatae, though serving as a seminar for the entomological department, has become an institution at
Cornell and has achieved a personality not often
associated with a seminar. Its object has been "to
give all members opportunity to learn of the advanced
work being done in the department." Hence more
time has been given "to reports of the results of
original investigations than to compilations, summaries and reviews." Indeed, the programs of late
years have consisted almost exclusively of reports on
the research being done by members, and this, perhaps, is the chief reason for the intimacy of the
meetings and the place the society holds in the conduct of the department.

The thousandth meeting is to be made the occasion for a celebration to which all its old members have been invited. This celebration will be held on Saturday, May 28, and it is hoped that of its hundreds of former members many will be able to attend.

## THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

Dr. F. X. Dercum, emeritus professor of nervous and mental diseases at Jefferson Medical College, has been elected president of the American Philosophical Society to succeed the late Dr. Charles D. Walcott. Dr. Henry Fairfield Osborn, president of the American Museum of Natural History; Dr. William W. Campbell, president of the University of California, and Dr. James A. Breasted, professor of Egyptology and Oriental history at the University of Chicago, have been elected vice-presidents.

Dr. Arthur W. Goodspeed, of the University of Pennsylvania, and Dr. John A. Miller, of Swarthmore College, were named secretaries; Eli K. Price, of Philadelphia, treasurer, and William P. Wilson, of the Philadelphia Museums, curator.

The following councillors were elected to serve for three years: Dr. Edwin Grant Conklin, Princeton; Cyrus Adler and former Governor William C. Sproul, both of Philadelphia, and Charles F. Brush, Cleveland

Fifteen new members were admitted—Roy Chap-