Arrangements have been made to house the members of the institute in convenient groups, and all will come together at meal time. In a new fraternity section, twelve modern houses—none more than three years old and all attractively furnished—will be reserved for institute members. Experience has shown that these details, as developed by the Institute of Politics at Williamstown, are highly beneficial.

THE ELLA SACHS PLOTZ FOUNDATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATION

DURING the third year of the Ella Sachs Plotz Foundation for the Advancement of Scientific Investigation thirty-eight applications for grants were received by the trustees. Fourteen of these came from eight different countries in Europe and Asia, and the others came from the United States. The total number of grants made was thirteen, two of these being to investigators to whom aid had been promised for two and three years respectively. Seven of the new grants were made to scientists in countries outside of the United States.

In the three years of its existence thirty-five grants have been made, and investigators have been assisted in the United States, Great Britain, France, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Switzerland and Esthonia. The list of investigators and of the researches which have been aided in the current year is as follows:

Dr. L. H. Newburgh, University of Michigan, \$1,250 a year for three years for a study of the production of chronic nephritis with high protein diets and amino acids.

Dr. William deB. MacNider, University of North Carolina, \$1,700 a year for two years for research in chronic experimental nephritis.

Dr. Henry G. Barbour and Dr. Glenn R. Spurling, University of Louisville, \$500 for investigation of operative and anesthetic shock.

Dr. Robert Chambers, Cornell University, \$500 for the continuation of the study of problems in cell physiology.

Dr. James E. Dawson, Edinburgh, Scotland, \$250 a year for two years, for investigation on the pathology of the breast.

Dr. Paul Hari, Budapest, Hungary, \$1,000 for study of diseases of the metabolism with special reference to diabetes in animals and man.

Dr. Warfield T. Longcope, Johns Hopkins Hospital, \$750 for studies upon the etiological relationship of streptococcus infections to acute and subacute nephritis.

Dr. David Marine, Montefiore Hospital for Chronic Diseases, \$1,200 for study of the inorganic salts of the body and their excretion following suprarenalectomy.

Dr. J. K. Parnas, University of Lwow, Lwow, Poland, \$500 for study of ammonia in blood.

Dr. Charles Richet, Paris, France, \$1,000 for research on tuberculosis.

Dr. Paul Saxl, Vienna, Austria, \$250 for research in immunity from infectious diseases.

Prof. Dr. Schlayer, Berlin, Germany, \$250 for studies on renal function and its relation to blood and tissue.

Prof. H. Siegmund, Koln-Lindenthal, Germany, \$250 for studies on the relation of antibody formation to the reticuloendothelial system.

Applications for grants to be held during the year 1927-28 should be in the hands of the executive committee before May 15, and should be sent to the secretary, Dr. Francis W. Peabody, Boston City Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. IRA REMSEN, professor-emeritus of chemistry and president-emeritus of the Johns Hopkins University, died on March 4, aged eighty-one years.

THE degree of doctor of medicine, honoris causa, was conferred upon Dr. John J. Abel, professor of pharmacology at the Johns Hopkins University, by a vote on November 4, 1926, of the faculty of medicine and academic senate of the John Casimir University of Lwow, Poland.

DR. HUBERT LYMAN CLARK, curator of echinoderms in the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, and professor of biology at Olivet College from 1899 to 1905, delivered the Founders' Day address at Olivet College on February 24, the eightythird anniversary of the founding of the institution. At the close of the ceremonies the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred upon Dr. Clark.

THE president and Council of the Royal Society decided at their meeting on February 17 to recommend for election into the society the following 15 candidates: Professor Edward Victor Appleton, Professor Thomas Graham Brown, Mr. Richard Higgins Burne, Dr. James Chadwick, Dr. Gordon Miller Bourne Dobson, Dr. Sebastian Ziani de Ferranti, Professor James Kendall, Professor Patrick Playfair Laidlaw, Professor Abercrombie Anstruther Lawson, Dr. Joseph William Mellor, Mr. Otto Rosenheim, Professor Meghnad Saha, Professor John Sebastian Bach Stopford, Dr. Herbert Henry Thomas and Mr. Charles Morley Wenyon.

D. W. BRUNTON, mining engineer of Denver, has been awarded the Saunders medal of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers in recognition of his contributions to engineering. On January 7 Mr. Brunton was given a dinner in Denver which was attended by more than two hundred engineers.

PORTRAITS of Dean Frederick E. Turneaure and the late Professor Storm Bull were presented to the College of Engineering of the University of Wisconsin