land or endowments to other American forestry schools, including the New York State College of Forestry, the Yale Forest School and the University of Washington.

## AWARDS OF THE PERKIN MEDAL

ON January 14, at a meeting of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry, the Perkin Medal was presented to John E. Teeple, consulting engineer, 50 East 41st St., New York City, for "significant scientific, technical and administrative achievements, particularly the economic development of an American potassium industry at Searles Lake, California."

The medal was presented by William H. Nichols, following introductory remarks by L. V. Redman, an account of the early days of the medalist by L. M. Dennis, and a summary of the accomplishments of Dr. Teeple by Charles H. Herty.

The Perkin Medal is awarded "annually to the American chemist who has most distinguished himself by his services to applied chemistry." It was founded in 1906 at the time of the Perkin semicentennial celebration of the coal-tar discoveries, the first medal being awarded to Sir William H. Perkin himself. *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry* prints a list of previous Perkin medalists as follows:

Date of award	Awarded to	Principal fields of inventions
1907	Sir W. H. Perkin	Discovery of first aniline color
1908	J. B. F. Herreshoff	Metallurgy; contact sul- furic acid
1909	Arno Behr	Corn products industry
1910	E. G. Acheson	Carborundum; artificial
2020		graphite
1911	Charles M. Hall	Metallic aluminum
1912	Herman Frasch	Desulfuring oil and subter-
		ranean sulfur industry
1913	James Gayley	Dry air blast
1914	John W. Hyatt	Colloids and flexible roller
	-	bearings
1915	Edward Weston	Electrical measurements;
		electrodeposition of met-
		als; flaming arc
1916	L. H. Baekeland	Velox photoprint paper;
		Bakelite and synthetic
		resins; caustic soda in-
		dustry
1917	Ernst Twitchell	Saponification of fats
1918	Auguste J. Rossi	Development of manufac- ture and use of ferro-
		titanium
1919	Frederick G. Cottrell	Electrical precipitation
1919	Charles F. Chandler	Noteworthy achievements
1920	Unaries F. Unanufer	in almost every line of
		chemical endeavor
1921	Willis R. Whitney	Development of research
		and application of sci-
		ence to industry
1922	William M. Burton	Achievement in oil indus-
		try; efficient conversion
		of high-boiling fractions
		into low-boiling frac-
		tions

1923	Milton C. Whitaker	Great constructive work in field of applied chem- istry
1924	Frederick M. Becket	Process for extraction of rare metals from ores; manufacture of calcium carbide; processes for reduction of rare metals and alloys
1925	Hugh K. Moore	Electrochemical processes for caustic soda, soda and chlorine, production of wood pulp, hydrogen- ation of oils, etc.
1926	R. B. Moore	Work on radium, mesotho- rium and helium

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. FRANK SCHLESINGER, director of the Yale University Observatory, to whom the Royal Astronomical Society has awarded its gold medal, sailed from New York for London on February 12 to deliver the first George Darwin lecture under the auspices of the Royal Astronomical Society. This lectureship was recently founded by Dr. J. H. Jeans, secretary of the Royal Society, and formerly professor of physics at Princeton University.

DR. RICHARD WILLSTÄTTER, formerly professor of chemistry in the University of Munich, who, as previously recorded, will soon visit the United States, will give a series of lectures under the Edward K. Dunham lectureship at the Harvard Medical School, beginning on March 22.

PAUL G. REDINGTON, assistant chief of the Forest Service, has been appointed chief of the Biological Survey, of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, the appointment to become effective next May, to succeed Dr. E. W. Nelson, who has asked to be relieved of his executive duties. Dr. Nelson will remain in the survey as senior biologist.

THE Geological Society of London has announced the following awards: The Wollaston medal to Professor W. W. Watts; the Murchison medal to Dr. G. T. Prior, keeper of the department of mineralogy in the British Museum; the Lyell medal to Sir Albert Ernest Kitson, director of the Geological Survey of the Gold Coast; the Bigsby medal to Dr. Bernard C. Smith, of the Geological Survey; the Wollaston fund to Miss M. E. J. Chandler; the Murchison fund to Dr. S. H. Haughton, of the Geological Survey of South Africa; one half the Lyell fund to Dr. Leonard Hawkes, reader in geology at Bedford College, London, and the other half of the Lyell fund to Miss Edith Goodyear, senior assistant in the geological department of University College, London.

DR. HIDEYO NOGUCHI, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, has been elected an associate member of the French Society of Biology.