THE AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

THIRTY-THREE expeditions were financed by the American Museum of Natural History last year through the generosity of those interested in scientific work, according to an announcement made at the annual meeting of the trustees at the University Club on January 3. The contributions to the museum totaled \$552,000, in addition to more than \$2,000,000 of additional endowment.

President Henry Fairfield Osborn, who was elected president for the nineteenth successive year, said that more than \$6,000,000 of additional endowment was still needed. Twenty-four trustees contributed \$91,850 to educational and scientific costs, and twenty trustees contributed \$60,705 for special purposes.

Five new exhibition halls will open shortly, two of them probably by Washington's birthday. The opening of the new halls, the completion of the new Washington Heights subway and the construction of the intermuseum promenade across Central Park are expected to break all attendance records, although in 1926 the number of visitors was 2,070,065. Ten years ago the number was only 847,675.

Promotions and changes in the scientific staff were announced as follows: George H. Sherwood was promoted to the post of director; Dr. William Diller Matthew was appointed curator of geology and paleontology; Walter Granger, curator of fossil mammals; Barnum Brown, curator of fossil reptiles; Robert Cushman Murphy, curator of oceanic birds; Dr. Chester A. Reeds, curator of invertebrate paleontology; Clifford Pope, assistant in herpetology, and Wayne M. Faunce was promoted to assistant to the director and assistant secretary.

George F. Baker was reelected first vice-president; J. P. Morgan, second vice-president, and James H. Perkins, treasurer. Percy R. Pyne was reelected secretary. Frederick F. Brewster, Douglas Burden, Cleveland E. Dodge, Childs Frick and Leonard C. Sanford were reelected trustees for five years. The new trustees elected were Kermit Roosevelt, Oliver C. Jennings and James H. Perkins.

ANTI-EVOLUTION LEGISLATION AND THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNI-VERSITY PROFESSORS

At the recent meeting of the American Association of University Professors in Philadelphia a movement was started for more effective cooperation of various groups in opposing the spread of anti-evolution legislation in the states.

The following resolution, offered by Professor A. O. Lovejoy, of the Johns Hopkins University, was adopted:

Resolved, That this association take the initiative in bringing about a more effective cooperation between all groups or organizations interested in opposing legislative restriction on freedom of teaching in state-supported institutions and in defending the principle of the separation of church and state in educational matters.

Another resolution on the same subject, presented by Professor R. H. Johnson, of the University of Pittsburgh, was also adopted:

Resolved, That when some similar organization is formed it should investigate the legality of the action of the Texas State Text-book Commission, which has removed all mention of evolution from text-books in state-supported schools.

The action of the association followed the reading of a report from the committee on freedom of teaching in science, of which Professor S. J. Holmes, of the University of California, is chairman, on the spread of anti-evolution legislation.

Since the last report of the committee another state, Mississippi, has passed a law prohibiting the teaching of the doctrine of evolution in state-supported schools. The statute is similar to the one passed in Tennessee.

A bill was introduced in the legislature of Louisiana but was defeated, and a similar one will be presented in January to the legislature in Arkansas.

DINNER IN HONOR OF SIR J. J. THOMSON

A CONGRATULATORY dinner was given at Cambridge on December 18 to Sir J. J. Thomson, master of Trinity College, on the occasion of his seventieth birthday. From the report in Nature we learn that the celebration was arranged by the Cavendish Society, which consists of past and present students of the Cavendish Laboratory, together with members of the staff. Sir Ernest Rutherford occupied the chair, and about 130 other members of the society were present, while numerous messages were sent by old students who are carrying on the Cavendish tradition in many parts of the world. Something of the spirit which he creates in all who have been associated with him is expressed in the following address, which was presented to Sir Joseph at the dinner, bearing the signatures of 230 of his disciples:

We, the past and present workers in the Cavendish Laboratory, wish to congratulate you on the completion of your seventieth year. We remember with pride your contributions to theoretical and experimental physics, and especially your pioneer work on the structure of the atom. The additions you have made to knowledge are conspicuous even in this age of remarkable achievement, and have profoundly influenced the history of science. Succeeding to the chair of Clerk Maxwell and Lord Rayleigh, you have made the Cavendish Laboratory, dur-