rithms and other Mathematical Tables" and "Mathematical Theories of Planetary Motions" (a translation by Harrington and Hussey) together with several technical papers appeared during his residence at Michigan and Stanford Universities. While at Lick Observatory his "Micrometrical Observations of Double Stars discovered at Pulkowa" appeared as Volume V of the Lick Observatory Publications, and in addition he contributed about 130 technical articles to various astronomical periodicals during that time. Subsequently, the total of his technical articles had increased to more than one hundred and seventy.

Professor Hussey's only respite from hard work was found in travel and his journeys were always of an expeditionary character. In 1903 his search for observatory sites in behalf of the Carnegie Institution took him to Arizona, Southern California and Australia. At this time he reported favorably on the present site of Mount Wilson Observatory. In 1905 he headed the very successful Lick Observatory Expedition to Egypt. In 1911 his four journeys to La Plata began. In 1912 he conducted an eclipse expedition to Brazil, but clouds prevented observation. In 1923 he extended his search for observatory sites to Africa. In 1925 at Geneva, New York, he sat in the basket of a balloon ready to ascend under perilous conditions to observe the eclipsed sun from an elevation above the clouds. Expert balloonists forbade the flight. He was embarking on the major expedition of his career when death came.

The University of Michigan has lost a prominent scientist, educator and administrator. Astronomy has lost one of its distinguished contributors, organizers and builders. Those of us who were close to Professor Hussey mourn the loss of a generous and loyal friend.

ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN

R. H. CURTISS

## SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

## AWARD OF PRIZES BY THE FRENCH ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE following prizes have been awarded by the French Academy of Sciences for the year 1926:

The Poncelet Prize (2,000 fr.), Paul Montel, professor of mathematics at the University of Paris.

The Francoeur Prize (1,000 fr.), Gaston Julia, professor of mathematics at the University of Paris.

The Montyon Prize (1,500 fr.), Professor Kyrille Popoff, of the University of Sofia.

The Henri de Parville Prize (1,500 fr.), Colonel Antoine Alayrac, chief engineer of the Bureau of Aeronautics.

The Henry Bazin Prize (5,000 fr.), Leo Escande and

Marcel Ricaud, lecturers in electromechanics at the University of Toulouse.

The Montyon Prize for Pathological Industries (2,500 fr.), Ernest Portier, inspector of education for the Seine district, and (1,500 fr.) Louis Chelle, professor of chemistry at the University of Bordeaux.

The Jecker Prize (6,000 fr.), André Wahl, professor of industrial chemistry at the University of Paris, and (4,000 fr.) Gustave Vavon, professor of organic chemistry at the University of Nancy.

The La Caze Prize (10,000 fr.), André Job, professor of chemistry at the University of Paris.

The Cahours Foundation Prize, Raymond Delaby, of the School of Pharmacy, and Michel Samsoen, engineer.

The Hirn Foundation Prize (2,500 fr.), M. Thoret, of the air force.

The Becquerel Foundation Prize (3,000 fr.), Georges Bruhat, professor of physics at the University of Lille.

The Houzeau Prize (700 fr.), Louis Hackspill, professor of mineralogical chemistry at the University of Strasbourg.

The Berthelot Medal, Ernest Portier, winner of the Montyon Prize and André Job, winner of the La Caze Prize.

The Serres Prize (7,500 fr.), Charles Pérez, professor of zoology at the University of Paris.

The Vaillant Prize (4,000 fr.), Mme. Lucie Randoin, director of the laboratory of research in nutrition at the Institute of Agronomical Research.

The Jean Reynaud Prize (10,000 fr.), to the late Alfred Giard, member of the Academy of Sciences.

The Saintour Prize (3,000 fr.), Pierre Fauvel, professor of zoology at the University of Angers.

The Longchampt Prize (4,000 fr.), Charles Dhéré, professor of physiology at the University of Freiburg.

The Wilde Prize (2,000 fr.), Professor Armand Renier, of the University of Liège, and (2,000 fr.) M. Bruneau, explorer.

The Caméré Prize (4,000 fr.), Raoul Féret, director of the laboratory for research in the construction of bridges and roads.

The Gaston Roux Prize (1,000 fr.), M. Chevey, assistant at the museum of Natural History.

The Thorlet Prize (1,600 fr.), Adolphe Richard, former assistant at the School of Mines.

The Albert 1st of Monaco Prize (100,000 fr.), Jean Charcot, the explorer.

The Tremont Foundation Prize (1,000 fr.), Edmond Marcotte, advisory engineer at the mines of Laluque.

## PRESENTATION OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY'S MEDALS TO SIR FREDERICK G. HOP-KINS AND DR. D. H. SCOTT

IN presenting the Copley medal to Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins, and the Darwin medal to Dukinfield Henry Scott at the anniversary meeting of the Royal Society the following citations were made:

For twenty years Sir Frederick Hopkins has been a foremost leader in biochemistry, a branch of science that