In the evening the bureau's staff will act as hosts at a dinner to be given at the New Willard hotel. Many distinguished guests, including scientific and technical men from all over the country, are expected to attend the celebration. Among these will be Dr. S. W. Stratton, president of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and for twenty-two years director of the bureau.

The bureau was created by act of congress on March 3, 1901. It took over the duties of the old division of weights and measures of the Coast and Geodetic Survey. From 1901 till 1903 the bureau came under the Treasury Department. In 1903 it was transferred to the Department of Commerce and Labor, now the Department of Commerce.

The bureau was originally housed in temporary quarters near the capitol. It now occupies more than a dozen permanent buildings on a large site at the corner of Van Ness Street and Connecticut Avenue. The staff, which numbered 14 people in 1901, has grown to about 800—two thirds of the employees being scientifically trained.

AWARD OF MEDALS BY THE ROYAL SOCIETY

THE following awards have been made by the Royal Society:

A Royal Medal to Sir William Hardy, F.R.S., for his pioneer work on colloidal chemistry and the theory of lubrication.

A Royal Medal to Professor A. V. Hill, F.R.S., for his distinguished work on the physical and chemical aspects of muscular contraction.

The Copley Medal to Sir Frederick Hopkins, F.B.S., for his distinguished and fruitful work in biochemistry.

The Rumford Medal to Sir Arthur Schuster, F.R.S., for his services to physical science, especially in the subjects of optics and terrestrial magnetism.

The Davy Medal to Sir James Walker, F.R.S., for his work on the theory of ionization and ionic equilibria in solution.

The Darwin Medal to Dr. D. H. Scott, F.R.S., for his contributions to paleophytology, particularly in relation to the period of coal.

The Hughes Medal to Admiral of the Fleet Sir Henry Jackson, F.R.S., for his pioneer work in the scientific investigation of radio-telegraphy and its application to navigation.

The following is a list of those recommended by the president and council of the Royal Society for election to the council at the anniversary meeting on November 30:

President—Sir Ernest Rutherford. Treasurer—Sir David Prain. Secretaries—Mr. J. H. Jeans and Dr. H. H. Dale. Foreign Secretary—Sir Richard Glazebrook. Other members of council—Sir Hugh Anderson, Dr. F. W. Aston, Professor L. Bairstow, Professor F. G. Bower, Sir Archibald Garrod, Professor E. J. Garwood, Sir Thomas Heath, Professor J. P. Hill, Dr. P. Chalmers Mitchell, Professor R. Muir, Sir John Parsons, Sir Robert Robertson, Mr. A. A. C. Swinton, Sir Gilbert Walker, Sir James Walker and Mr. W. C. D. Whetham.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Trudeau Medal for 1926 of the National Tuberculosis Association was awarded at the annual meeting in Washington to Dr. Theobald Smith, Princeton, director of the department of animal pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, who in 1896 first distinguished between the bovine and the human bacillus of tuberculosis.

DR. FRIDTJOF NANSEN was installed as rector of the University of St. Andrews on November 3 after having been admitted to the honorary degree of doctor of laws. The honorary degree of LL.D. was also conferred among others upon Professor Vilhelm F. K. Bjerknes, of the University of Oslo; Professor Bjorn Helland-Hansen, of Bergen; Captain Otto Neumann Sverdrup (captain of the *Fram*), and Sir T. W. Edgeworth David.

DR. CHARLES H. HERTY has resigned the presidency of the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association of the United States in order to assume the duties of adviser to the Chemical Foundation, Inc. Dr. Herty will devote his entire time to the work of the Chemical Foundation.

DR. CHARLES J. FISH, resident oceanographer at the station of the United States Bureau of Fisheries at Woods Hole, has been appointed director of the new Buffalo Museum of Science.

AT the recent clinical congress in Montreal of the American College of Surgeons honorary fellowships were conferred on Professor Robert Alessandria, of Rome; Professor Archibald Young, of Glasgow; Sir Ewen Maclean, of Cardiff; Professor L. E. Barnett, of Dunedin, New Zealand, and Professors John Fraser and David Wilkie, of Edinburgh.

SENATORE G. MARCONI has been elected an honorary member of the British Institution of Electrical Engineers.

SIR WILLIAM ORPEN is painting a portrait of Professor J. A. Fleming, whose friends and admirers are raising a fund for this purpose. The portrait is to hang in University College, London, with which Professor Fleming has been long connected. A replica of the portrait is also to be presented to the British Institution of Electrical Engineers.

THE engineering department of the University of