A. J. GOLDFORB,

Secretary of Section N

AWARD OF THE WILLARD GIBBS MEDAL TO PROFESSOR ABEL

PROFESSOR J. J. ABEL, of the Medical School of the Johns Hopkins University, is to receive the Willard Gibbs Gold Medal for the current year. This medal is awarded each year by the Chicago section of the American Chemical Society to some eminent chemist whose work in either pure or applied chemistry has received world-wide recognition. The medal was founded by William A. Converse, secretary of the Dearborn Chemical Company, and has been named the Willard Gibbs Medal after one of America's most distinguished physicists and chemists, Josiah Willard Gibbs.

The choice of a recipient for the Willard Gibbs Medal is made by a jury of twelve chemists from the country at large. The jurors for this year include Professor Roger Adams, director of the chemical laboratory of the University of Illinois; Professor Edward Bartow, head of the department of chemistry at the State University of Iowa; Professor W. D. Harkins, of the University of Chicago; Dr. W. Lee Lewis, formerly head of the department of chemistry at Northwestern University and at present in charge of chemical research for the American Institute of Meat Packers; Professor J. F. Norris, president of the American Chemical Society and professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Professor Julius Stieglitz, head of the department of chemistry of the University of Chicago; Dr. E. W. Washburn, formerly of the University of Illinois and now chief chemist of the Bureau of Standards, and Professor F. C. Whitmore, head of the department of chemistry at Northwestern University.

Professor Abel was born in Cleveland in 1857 and studied at the University of Michigan and in Europe. He received the degree of doctor of medicine from the University of Strasbourg in 1888. He has been the recipient of numerous honorary degrees, including one from Cambridge University in England. At present he is professor of pharmacology at Johns Hopkins University and is editor of the journal *Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics*.

Professor Abel's research has been largely in the field of glandular extracts. He was first to isolate the drug epinephrin from the suprarenal glands. This was the first substance secreted by the glands of the body to be isolated as a pure crystalline product. Professor Abel has obtained a concentrated substance from the pituitary glands of such potency that one part in a billion is physiologically effective, and he announced the preparation of crystalline insulin. Professor Abel follows a long list of eminent chemists as a recipient of this medal which will be awarded by the Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society at its May meeting.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

ON the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary celebration at the Johns Hopkins University, a portrait of Dr. Ira E. Remsen, the first professor of chemistry of the university and its second president, was presented to the university. William M. Burton, president of the Standard Oil Company of Indiana, delivered greetings to Dr. Remsen. The portrait is by Dr. Remsen's son, Ira E. Remsen, Jr.

HONORARY degrees of doctor of science were conferred by the University of Rochester on Dr. Frederich von Müller, professor of internal medicine in the University of Munich, and Dr. Andrew Balfour, director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, on the occasion of the exercises dedicating the new medical school on October 25.

PRESENTATION of the Grasselli medal to Dr. Charles Raymond Downs took place on November 5 on the occasion of a joint meeting of the American Section of Society of Chemical Industry, the New York Section of the American Chemical Society, Société de Chimie Industrielle and the American Electrochemical Society. At an informal dinner in the evening at the Chemists' Club, New York, Dr. Treat B. Johnson, of Yale University, spoke on "The Medalist and Award." Dr. Downs gave an address entitled "Some Speculations in Catalytic Oxidation Reactions" and Professor Gerald Wendt, of the Pennsylvania State College, spoke on "Phenomena related to Catalysis."

C. S. JARVIS, associate highway engineer of the U. S. Bureau of Public Roads, has been awarded the J. James R. Cross gold medal by the American Society of Civil Engineers for his paper on "Floodflow Characteristics."

THE Kelvin Medal of the British Institution of Civil Engineers for 1926 has been awarded to the Honorable Sir Charles A. Parsons.

In honor of the forty-seventh anniversary of the invention of the incandescent electric lamp by Thomas A. Edison, a special radio program was broadcasted from Schenectady for reception and rebroadcasting in Great Britain and South Africa.