Luther P. Eisenhart, professor of mathematics, Princeton University.

Arthur B. Coble, professor of mathematics, University of Illinois.

Henry B. Brooks, chief of the electrical instrument and meter section of the U. S. Bureau of Standards.

THE INTERNATIONAL TUBERCULOSIS CONGRESS

FOR the first time since 1908 the International Union Against Tuberculosis has convened in America. The sessions took place in Washington from September 29 to October 2, with Dr. Theobald Smith, director of the department of animal pathology of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research of Princeton, as president.

Fifty-eight foreign medical men, from twenty-two countries, were in attendance, and more than 500 physicians and public health workers from the United States gathered to attend the sessions. The program was followed by the twenty-second annual meeting of the National Tuberculosis Association, October 4 to 7.

Among the members from foreign countries in attendance were:

Austria-Professor Dr. Ernst Loewenstein, Vienna.

Canada—Dr. Jabez H. Elliott, Toronto; Professor Arthur Rousseau, Quebec; Professor James Miller, Kingston.

Czechoslovakia-Dr. Vladimir Novak, Brno.

England—Dr. F. J. H. Coutts, London; Sir Henry Gauvain, Alton; Miss Olga Nethersole, London; Dr. Nathan Raw, Richmond, Surrey; Dr. P. C. Varrier-Jones, Cambridge.

Scotland-Dr. Fergus Hewat, Edinburgh.

Wales-Colonel S. Lyle Cummins, Cardiff.

France—Dr. Leon Bernard, Paris; Mlle. Helene Mugnier, Lyons; Dr. B. Weill-Halle, Paris; Dr. Edouard Rist, Paris; Dr. F. Humbert.

Germany—Professor Friedrich von Müller, Munich; Dr. Friedrich Neufeld, Berlin; Frau Professor Lydia Rabinowitsch-Wempner, Berlin; Dr. Ferdinand Sauerbruch, Munich; Professor Dr. Hugo Selter, Bonn.

Holland-Dr. P. J. L. DeBloeme, Amsterdam.

Italy—Professor Vittorio Ascoli, Rome; Dr. G. B. Roatta, Florence; Professor Gaetano Ronzoni, Milan.

Japan-Dr. Rokuro Takano, Tokio.

Norway-Professor Francis Harbitz, Oslo.

Portugal-Professor Thiago d' Almeida, Porto.

Sweden-Professor Hans Christian Jacobaeus, Stockholm.

Switzerland—Dr. Frederick Jessen, Davos Platz; Dr. Jaquerod Leysin; Dr. Ernest Zueblin, Zurich.

Venezuela-Dr. Carlos J. Bello, Caracas.

There are four counselors of the International Union from the United States: Dr. James Alexander Miller, president of the New York Tuberculosis and Health Association, New York City; Dr. Theobald Smith, president of the International Union Against Tuberculosis and the National Tuberculosis Association; Dr. Gerald B. Webb, Colorado Springs, Colo., and Mr. Linsly R. Williams, managing director of the National Tuberculosis Association.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

IN 1927 the American Philosophical Society will celebrate the two hundredth anniversary of its founding. It has been decided to combine this celebration with the annual general meeting of the society, the dates fixed being April 27, 28, 29 and 30, 1927. The following resolution has been passed by the society: "That preparations be made to invest the annual meeting of the society in 1927 with a dignity and public importance worthy of so notable an anniversary in the world's history of learning."

THE American Association for the Advancement of Science has been invited to take charge of one of the meetings held in connection with the Sesquicentennial International Exposition. The meeting will be held in the Educational Building at three o'clock on the afternoon of October 16, the general subject being "The Contributions of Science and its Applications to the Welfare of the Nation since the Signing of the Declaration of Independence." Dr. John M. Coulter, professor emeritus of botany in the University of Chicago, past president of the American Association, will preside and open the discussion. Addresses will be made by Dr. C. E. McClung, professor of zoology and director of the laboratories at the University of Pennsylvania; Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of SCIENCE, formerly professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania and Columbia University; Dr. W. A. Noyes, recently professor of chemistry and director of the laboratories at the University of Illinois, and Professor Dexter S. Kimball, professor of industrial engineering and dean of the College of Engineering of Cornell University.

THE Sweet Memorial Professorship Fund established at Cornell University in memory of Professor John Edson Sweet, the distinguished mechanical engineer who died in 1916, has now received subscriptions amounting to \$119,000.

THE Terry lectures for 1926-27, by Professor Robert A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology, were given at Yale University on October 13, 14 and 15. They will be repeated in Bridgeport at the United Congregational Church on October 17, 18 and 19.