Campaign; Dr. Ferdinand Blumenthal, professor of internal medicine at the University of Berlin; Dr. William deVries, president of the Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, professor of pathologic anatomy at the University of Amsterdam; Dr. Henri Hartmann, professor of surgery at the University of Paris; Dr. J. Maisin, professor at the University of Louvain; Dr. James A. Murray, director of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London; Dr. Claude Regaud, director of the Pasteur Laboratory of the Radium Institute, Paris; Dr. Albert Reverdin, general secretary to the Anti-Cancer Center of Geneva.

Among the Americans were: Dr. Howard Canning Taylor, professor of clinical gynecology at Columbia, president; Dr. Francis Carter Wood, director of the Institute for Cancer Research, Columbia, vice-president, and Dr. George A. Soper, managing director of the American Society for the Control of Cancer; Dr. Robert B. Greenough, member of the Harvard Cancer Commission and director of the Huntington Memorial Hospital, Boston; Dr. James Ewing, professor of pathology, Cornell Medical College, and director of the Memorial Hospital, New York; Dr. Charles Mayo, Rochester, Minnesota; Dr. Joseph Colt Bloodgood, associate professor of clinical surgery at the Johns Hopkins University; Dr. William H. Welch, director of the Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, the Johns Hopkins University; Dr. Burton J. Lee, Dr. George H. Semken, Dr. Willy Meyer, Dr. Isaac Levin, Dr. John Shelton Horsley, of Richmond; Dr. Alson R. Kilgore, of San Francisco; Dr. Alexander Primrose, of Canada; Miss Maud Slye, of Chicago, and Dr. Erwin Smith, of Washington.

THE TENTH INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF ZOOLOGY

PRELIMINARY ANNOUNCEMENT

THE Ninth International Congress of Zoology in session at Monaco in March, 1913, decided to hold the tenth meeting in 1916 at Budapest, Hungary, under the presidency of the undersigned. Unfortunately the events of the war made it impossible to adhere to this decision, and the meeting of the Tenth Congress had to be postponed. The present international situation is now such, however, that this congress can be held during the coming year.

In accord with the Permanent Committee of the International Congress of Zoology I have the honor, therefore, to announce that the Tenth International Congress of Zoology will meet in Budapest, Hungary, on September 4 to 9, 1927, and that all zoologists and friends of zoology are hereby cordially invited to attend.

The detailed program of the Congress will be issued

before the end of the present year and sent to those interested.

Dr. G. Horváth,

President of the Tenth International Congress of Zoology, Director of the Department of Zoology, Hungarian National Museum

BUDAPEST, HUNGARIAN NATIONAL MUSEUM, SEPTEMBER 4, 1926

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PROFESSOR H. A. LORENTZ, of the University of Leyden, will arrive in Ithaca early in October as visiting lecturer on the Schiff Foundation. He will deliver a series of about thirty lectures on mathematical physics.

THE friends of Dr. William H. Park, of New York City, desiring to present a testimonial of their regard and recognition of his service to humanity, have planned to have his portrait painted and placed in the New York Academy of Medicine.

George Murnane, vice-president of the New York Trust Company, has been elected president of the American Association for Medical Progress. Mr. Murnane succeeds the first president, Dr. Thomas Barbour, director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University.

Dr. Walter A. Baetjer, of Baltimore, was elected president of the American Climatological and Clinical Association at the recent meeting in Philadelphia.

CHARLES M. SCHWAB has been elected president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He will formally assume the office at the annual meeting of the society in New York early in December, at which time he will succeed William L. Abbott, of Chicago.

At a recent meeting of the board of trustees of the Mt. Desert Island Biological Laboratory Dr. H. V. Neal was elected to succeed Professor Ulric Dahlgren, who resigned as director. Mr. William Proctor was elected to serve as president during the absence of Dr. Harold L. Senior, who will be abroad next year.

THE trustees of the recently incorporated Bermuda Biological Station for Research are as follows: E. J. Allen, director, Marine Biological Association, Plymouth, England; J. H. Ashworth, University of Edinburgh; E. G. Conklin, *chairman*, Princeton University; E. V. Cowdry, the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research; C. B. Davenport, of the Carnegie Institution; B. M. Duggar, Washington University, St. Louis; R. A. Harper, Columbia University; Ross G. Harrison, Yale University; A. G. Huntsman,