THE INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF PHILOSOPHY

THE sixth International Congress of Philosophy was held from September 13 to 16, at Harvard University, with approximately three hundred active members in attendance, including sixty-nine from eighteen countries outside the United States, opening on Monday evening in Gore Hall dining room. According to the program President Nicholas Murray Butler, of Columbia University, chairman on behalf of the organizing committee of the congress, made the first address of welcome. He was followed by President A. Lawrence Lowell, on behalf of Harvard University; President W. E. Hocking, on behalf of the American Philosophical Association, eastern division; President R. C. Lodge, for the western division of the association, and President H. W. Stuart, for the Pacific division of the association. There followed the presentation of the foreign delegates, who by advance registration were distributed as follows: Belgium, 1; Canada, 10; Czechoslovakia, 3; France, 6; Germany, 12; Great Britain, 14; Holland, 1; India, 2; Italy, 4; Japan, 3; Poland, 5; Portugal, 1; Russia, 1; South Africa, 1; South America, 1; Spain, 1; Switzerland, 1, and Turkey, 1. Dr. Paul Lapie, rector of the University of Paris, responded on behalf of the foreign delegates. At the conclusion of the formal exercises a smoker was held in Gore Hall common room.

The program of the congress has been grouped as follows: Division A—metaphysics, philosophy of nature, philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion. Division B—logic, epistemology, philosophy of science. Division C—ethics, theory of value, social philosophy, esthetics. Division D—the history of philosophy.

Apart from numerous sectional meetings each division arranged a general program as follows:

DIVISION A

The hypothesis of emergent evolution, its meaning and the present state of the argument concerning it.

Chairmen—James R. Angell, Yale; H. S. Jennings, Johns Hopkins.

Speakers—Hans Driesch, Leipzig; H. Wildon Carr, London; Arthur O. Lovejoy, Johns Hopkins; W. M. Wheeler, Harvard.

Division B

Continuity and discontinuity among the sciences. Chairmen—Frank Thilly, Cornell; F. J. E. Woodbridge, Columbia.

Speakers—Federigo Enriques, Rome; Erich Becher, Munich; W. E. Hocking, Harvard.

DIVISION C

Philosophy and international relations.

Chairmen—James H. Tufts, Chicago; Wilbur M. Urban, Dartmouth.

Speakers—Charles Bouglé, Sorbonne (La philosophie, la democratie, et la paix); Erich Becher, Munich (Darwinism and international relations); Coriolano Alberini, Buenos Aires; Roscoe Pound, Harvard (The part of philosophy in international law).

DIVISION D

The rôle of philosophy in the history of civilization. Chairmen—A. C. Armstrong, Wesleyan; Alexander Meiklejohn, Wisconsin.

Speakers—Henry Osborn Taylor, New York; Etienne Gilson, Sorbonne; John Dewey, Columbia; S. Radhakrishnan, Calcutta; Benedetto Croce, Naples (The modern conception of philosophy, read by Raffaelo Piccoli, Naples).

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

On the occasion of the anniversary meeting of the American Chemical Society, the University of Pennsylvania conferred honorary degrees on Sir James Colquhoun Irvine, principal of St. Andrews University; Gionori Conti, senator of Italy; Professor Paul Sabatier, University of Toulouse, and Professor Ernest Cohen, University of Utrecht.

AFTER the Priestley Medal had been conferred by the American Chemical Society on Dr. Edgar Fahs Smith, professor of chemistry and former provost of the University of Pennsylvania, in accordance with the award already announced, Professor Walter Taggart, of the university, presented to Dr. Smith a diploma from the University of Göttingen renewing after fifty years the doctorate of philosophy that had been awarded in 1876.

Dr. Wilfred Watkins-Pitchford has resigned as director of the South African Institute for Medical Research, Johannesburg, and as chairman of the miners' phthisis medical bureau on account of ill health.

DR. OTTO FISCHER, director of the State Art Gallery at Stuttgart, has been made honorary adviser of the Chinese federal museums and art galleries, with headquarters at Peking.

THE following have been elected officers of the Röntgen Society, London, for the session 1926-1927: President, Mr. N. S. Finzi; Vice-presidents, Dr. Robert Knox, Professor A. W. Porter, Professor S. Russ; Honorary Treasurer, Mr. Geoffrey Pearce; Honorary Editor, Dr. G. W. C. Kaye; Honorary Secretaries, Mr. Russell J. Reynolds, Professor F. L. Hopwood.