Eight sections of subject matter will be handled by eighty special editors. Cooperating foreign correspondents and libraries will help to scan the 5,000 serials for significant papers. Authors and editorial collaborators will prepare the abstracts. By the use of small but legible type and a thin opaque paper 1,030 large pages will occupy only an inch of shelf room. When once under way it is expected that twelve monthly numbers with elaborate annual indexes will run to between 3,000 and 3,500 pages. The entire enterprise will be directed by a small full-time central staff of editors.

THE FOURTH AMERICAN ASSOCIATION PRIZE

The thousand-dollar prize that is to be awarded at the fifth Philadelphia meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will be the fourth annual prize of the association. The prize is awarded each year to some one who presents at the annual meeting of the association and associated organizations a paper making a noteworthy contribution to the advancement of science. There is no formal competition for the prize and all papers on the program are to be considered. The winner of the prize need not necessarily be a member of the American Association nor of any of the associated organizations. The prize is awarded at the close of the annual meeting and disbursement from the treasury is made within about a week thereafter.

Funds for these annual American Association prizes were given to the association by one of its members who wishes his name withheld. There is now available sufficient money for two more prizes after the one to be awarded at Philadelphia. These will be awarded at the Nashville meeting (1927–28) and at the fifth New York meeting (1928–29).

The following is the roll of the American Association prizemen. The Washington prize was divided equally between two winners.

1. Dr. L. E. Dickson, professor of mathematics in the University of Chicago. Awarded the first American Association prize, at Cincinnati, January, 1924, for a noteworthy contribution on "Algebras and their Arithmetics." (See Science for January 25, 1924, p. 77.)

2a. Dr. L. R. Cleveland, research worker in medical zoology at the School of Hygiene and Public Health, the Johns Hopkins University. Awarded half of the second American Association prize, at Washington, January, 1925, for noteworthy contributions on "The Ability of Termites to Live Perhaps Indefinitely on a Diet of Pure Cellulose" and "The Effects of Starvation and Oxygenation on the Symbiosis between Termites and their Intestinal Protozoa, together with the Toxicity of Oxygen for Free-living and Parasitic Protozoa." (See Science for March 13, 1925, pp. 277–279.)

2b. Dr. Edwin P. Hubble, astronomer at Mt. Wilson Observatory, Pasadena. Awarded half of the second American Association prize, at Washington, January, 1925, for a noteworthy contribution on "Cepheids in Spiral Nebulae." (See Science for March 13, 1925, pp. 277-279.)

3. Dr. Dayton C. Miller, professor of physics in the Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland. Awarded the third American Association prize, at Kansas City, January, 1926, for a noteworthy contribution on "The Michelson-Morley Ether-Drift Experiment: its History and Significance." (See SCIENCE for January 29, 1926, pp. 105–106, and for April 30, 1926, pp. 433-443.)

By vote of the association council, the annual prizes are not to be divided in the future, the entire amount of the prize going each year to a single winner. The award is decided by a special committee on prize award. This committee for the fifth Philadelphia meeting has been named as follows:

- C. E. Seashore, *chairman*; dean of the Graduate College, University of Iowa.
- Otis W. Caldwell; director of the Lincoln School, Teachers College, New York City.
- Charles B. Davenport; director of the Station for Experimental Evolution, Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y.
- Lauder W. Jones; professor of chemistry, Princeton University.
- C. F. Marbut; chief of the Division of Soil Survey, Bureau of Soils, U. S. Department of Agriculture.

The committee receives suggestions from the secretaries of the sections and societies that take part in the general program of the meeting, studies these suggestions and reports its decision to the permanent secretary, who announces the award through the daily and scientific press at the close of the annual meeting.

Burton E. Livingston,

Permanent Secretary

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE degree of doctor of science has been conferred by the University of Oxford on Professor A. C. Seward, professor of botany, master of Downing College and vice-chancellor of the University of Cambridge; Sir William Bragg, Fullerian professor of chemistry and director of the Davy Faraday Research Laboratory of the Royal Institution, London, and Sir Walter Morley Fletcher, secretary of the British Medical Research Council.

THE degree of doctor of science will be conferred in October by the University of Cambridge on Sir Ernest Rutherford and on Professor W. S. Holdsworth on the occasion of the celebration by Trinity College of the Bacon Tercentenary.

THE bicentenary of the faculty of medicine of the University of Edinburgh was celebrated on June 10