1s = 156300 $2p_1 = 106000$ $2p_2 = 96200$

Since they are computed from only the first two terms of the series, they are probably a little too large.

RALPH A. SAWYER

NORMAN C. BEESE

PHYSICAL LABORATORY, UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN

THE MICHIGAN ACADEMY OF SCI-ENCES. ARTS AND LETTERS

THE thirty-first annual meeting of the Michigan Academy of Science, Arts and Letters was held at Ann Arbor, March 31 to April 2, 1926. Professor W. G. Waterman, of Northwestern University, attended the meetings as the representative of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Charles H. Cooley, of the University of Michigan, gave his presidential address on "The Roots of Social Knowledge." General addresses were given by C. C. Little, of the University of Michigan, on "The Genetics of Cancer"; W. G. Waterman, of Northwestern University, on "Sleeping Bear Point-a Unique Dune Area" and by Francis E. Lloyd, of McGill University, on "Motion Picture Studies in the Life-History and Physiology of Spirogyra and Vampyrella." Over 150 papers were read before the eleven sections of the Academy.

During the meeting 102 persons were elected to membership in the academy, and the following were elected to honorary membership:

- Charles Mills Gayley, professor of English, University of California.
- Herbert Spencer Jennings, professor of zoology, Johns Hopkins University.
- Thomas Maitland Marshall, professor of history, Washington University.
- Frederick Charles Newcombe, professor emeritus of botany, University of Michigan.

Officers for the current year were elected as follows:

President—L. A. Chase, Northern State Normal School. Vice-President—Harrison R. Hunt, Michigan State College.

Secretary-Treasurer-L. R. Dice, University of Michigan. Librarian-W. W. Bishop, University of Michigan.

Editor-Peter Okkelberg, University of Michigan.

Section Chairmen

Anthropology-Carl E. Guthe, University of Michigan. Botany-B. M. Davis, University of Michigan.

Economics and Sociology-Z. C. Dickinson, University of Michigan.

Geography—L. R. Schoenmann, State Land-Economic Survey.

- Geology and Mineralogy-W. A. Ver Wiebe, University of Michigan.
- History and Political Science—Preston W. Slosson, University of Michigan.
- Language and Literature-C. E. Whitmore, University of Michigan.
- Mathematics-A. L. Nelson, College of the City of Detroit.
- Psychology-John Shepard, University of Michigan.
- Sanitary and Medical Science-Malcolm H. Soule, University of Michigan.
- Zoology-Charles W. Creaser, College of the City of Detroit.

L. R. DICE, Secretary-Treasurer

THE MID-WESTERN ASSOCIATION OF EXPERIMENTAL PSYCHOLOGISTS

THE first meeting of the Mid-Western Association of Experimental Psychologists was held at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, on Friday and Saturday, May 7 and 8. On Friday evening Professor Jastrow, of the University of Wisconsin, spoke on "The Beginnings of Experimental Laboratories in the United States." Professor Jastrow told of the first laboratory established by G. Stanley Hall at the Johns Hopkins University in 1882. From this beginning he sketched the development of laboratories at Clark University, Harvard, University of Pennsylvania, Columbia and Wisconsin.

On Saturday morning papers were presented by: Professor Max Meyer, of Missouri, "Rank Classes versus Centiles"; Dr. H. W. Johnson, Mellon Institute, "Some Recent Experiments bearing on the Problem of Sleep"; Mr. S. N. Stevens, Northwestern, "Some Studies in Experimental Functionalism"; Mr. James Vaughn, Chicago, "The Hydrogen Ion Concentration of the Saliva."

In the afternoon representatives gave reports of experiments in progress at the following laboratories: Kansas, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Missouri, Wittenberg, Iowa and Ohio State. In the evening after dinner President Walter Dill Scott presided while Professor H. A. Carr, of Chicago, gave a paper on "The Weber-Fechner Law" and Professor A. P. Weiss told of the organization and program of the new Ohio State University laboratory.

More than 150 representatives from fifteen colleges and universities were present. A committee consisting of Professors A. R. Gilliland, Northwestern; E. S. Robinson, Chicago; C. R. Griffith, Illinois; Clark Hull, Wisconsin, and C. A. Ruckmick, Iowa, was appointed to arrange for the program and place of meeting for next year.