and the following officers were elected for the year 1926-27:

President, Dr. A. L. Dean, president of the University of Hawaii.

Vice-president, Mr. F. Muir, entomologist, Experiment Station, H. S. P. A.

Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. E. H. Bryan, Jr., entomologist, Bernice P. Bishop Museum.

Councilor (two years), Mr. C. S. Judd, territorial forester.

These men, together with Mr. O. H. Swezey, and the retiring president, Dr. F. C. Newcombe, will constitute the council.

The Proceedings of the First Annual Meeting, together with abstracts of papers presented, are to be published by the Bernice P. Bishop Museum.

> E. H. BRYAN, JR., Secretary-Treasurer

BERNICE P. BISHOP MUSEUM, HONOLULU

CONFERENCE OF SCIENTIFIC MEN AT THE WORKS OF THE GENERAL ELECTRIC COMPANY

A PARTY of 20 college professors, representing 18 universities, are visiting Schenectady for the professors' conference at the General Electric works which will continue until July 31.

The delegation, according to M. M. Boring who is in charge, will make a study of the progress and development of the electrical industry. Each member selected the line of work in which he is most interested and several who signified varied interests will be transferred each week or two to a different department.

The list, with the name of the college they come from and the work they have been assigned, follows:

H. W. Anderson, University of Kansas, radio department; S. W. Anderson, Virginia Military Institute, testing department; F. C. Caldwell, Ohio State University, illuminating engineering laboratory; G. H. Carlovitz, Vanderbilt University, testing department; J. A. Correll, University of Texas, industrial engineering department; R. W. Dickey, Washington and Lee University, industrial engineering department; J. L. Ellis, Georgia School of Technology, testing department; F. C. Evans, Cornell University, turbine engineering department; W. B. Hall, Yale University, industrial control department; S. F. Hart, Syracuse University, factory, building 18; H. H. Higbee, University of Michigan, illuminating engineering laboratory; E. W. Johnson, University of Minnesota, central station department; A. R. Knight, University of Illinois, central station department; J. H. Kuhlman, University of Michigan, direct current engineering department; K. M. McDonald, University of Alabama, factory, building 16; G. E. Mercer, Lafayette College, general engineering laboratory; C. B. Parker, Syracuse University, alternating current engineering department; C. A. Pierce, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, factory, building 16; C. S. Rankin, University of Delaware, testing department; W. H. Setchell, University of Porto Rico, turbine engineering, and F. A. Spencer, Norwich University, industrial engineering department; B. B. Brackett, the University of North Dakota.

An informal dinner was given the professors by the company at the Mohawk Golf Club on June 30. Several of the company's officers were present, but no speeches were made. The delegation visited on July 8 the Pittsfield works of the company for a special demonstration in the million volt laboratory.

In addition eight other professors are spending the summer months studying in various departments of the company. They are: Professor John G. Pertsch, Cornell University, central station department; Professor V. Karapetoff, Cornell University, general engineering laboratory; Dr. C. F. Greene, University of Illinois, alternating current engineering department; Professor G. A. Goodenough, University of Illinois, turbine engineering department; Dean C. E. Magnusson, University of Washington, central station department; Professor J. M. Bryant, University of Texas, in office of R. E. Doherty, consulting engineer; Professor D. A. Bureau, University of Kentucky, industrial control department, and Dr. A. A. Bennett, Lehigh University, alternating current engineering department.

TESTIMONIAL DINNER TO CARL BARUS

To mark the retirement from active service of Carl Barus, since 1895 Hazard professor of physics and since 1903 dean of the graduate department of Brown University, a dinner was tendered him by over sixty members of the corporation and faculty on May 21, 1926. Dean Barus has been made emeritus professor and will continue his researches in the laboratory. At the dinner, letters of felicitation were read from Professors Michelson, of the University of Chicago; Hall, of Harvard; Crew, of Northwestern; Hastings, of Yale, and Nichols, of Cornell. Vice-president Mead presided and there were addresses referring to various phases of Dean Barus's work by President Faunce, Professors Bronson and Koopman of the faculty, Professor H. N. Davis, of Harvard, and Mr. John R. Freeman, the well-known engineer. A book containing a congratulatory address and the signatures of members of the corporation and faculty was presented and Dean Barus responded. In closing he said: