at Washington, D. C., during 1927, as the result of Congressional action authorizing such invitations.

The first international conference of soil science was held at Budapest in 1908. Prior to that conference the scientists met in international conference as a branch of the International Congress of Geologists. The second conference took place at Stockholm, Sweden, in 1910, and at that meeting it was agreed to hold the third conference in St. Petersburg, Russia, in 1913. `Owing to the difficulties in Russia during the summer of 1913, the Russian government requested the representatives of the soil scientists of that country to notify affiliated bodies in other nations that it would be inconvenient to hold a conference in Russia at the time scheduled. The third conference finally met at Prague in April, 1922, and the fourth conference at Rome in May, 1924.

The International Conference of Soil Science is made up of specialists from a number of countries in which soil investigations are carried on in an intensive way. The conference is concerned with the establishment, through discussion and agreement, of uniform methods of procedure in the handling of soil problems of like character in all the countries represented, with the aim of eventually effecting a correlation of the soils of the whole world.

It is believed by the Department of Agriculture that the holding of such a conference in the United States will prove especially advantageous in promoting this branch of science, since a much larger number of American representatives interested in soil science, both those associated in Federal government activities and those connected with state colleges and other institutions in work along these lines, will thereby be enabled to participate in the conference and benefit by the exchange of ideas with the leading students of soil problems in foreign nations concerning the latest developments in experimental, educational and teaching work.

No expense will be incurred by the government in extending invitations to the delegates of foreign countries, but probably an appropriation of a small sum, not exceeding \$5,000, will be requested in the future by the Department of Agriculture for the publication of the proceedings and reports of the conference and for miscellaneous printing items, as was done by the governments of other countries in which the previous meetings have taken place.

INSTALLATION OF A CHAPTER OF SIGMA XI AT CINCINNATI

Installation of a chapter of Sigma Xi at the University of Cincinnati took place on April 29, in the woman's building at the University of Cincinnati. Dr. Forrest R. Moulton, of the University of Chicago

and president of the National Society, and Dr. H. P. Ward, of the University of Illinois, former president of the society and acting for the national secretary, were the installing officers.

Following the installation, a banquet was held where the address of welcome was given by Dr. Frederick C. Hicks, president of the University of Cincinnati. Dr. H. M. Benedict was toastmaster. Responses were made for the chapter by Dr. Nevin Fenneman and by Dr. Herman Schneider, dean of the College of Engineering. Dr. Ward gave a short address on "Yesterday and To-morrow," being a discussion as to the history and objects of the society. The main speaker was Dr. Moulton, who gave an illustrated address on modern ideas in astronomy.

The officers of the new chapter are:

President: Dr. O. C. Von Schlichten, Department of Geology.

Vice-president: Dr. G. D. McLaughlin, Department of Leather Research, Tanners' Council of America.

Secretary-treasurer: Dr. Saul B. Arenson, Department of Chemical Engineering.

The petitioning group consisted of about forty, practically all being members elected at other chapters.

AWARD OF MEDALS BY THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

A SPECIAL meeting was held at the Franklin Institute on May 12 when medals were presented in accordance with the following program.

Presentation of the Longstreth Medal to Mr. James John Denny, MacIntyre Porcupine Mines, Ltd.

Presentation of the Wetherill Medals to Mr. Frank Twyman, F.R.S., F.Inst.P., managing director, Adam Hilger, Ltd.; The Wagner Electric Corporation, Mr. W. A. Layman, president.

Presentation of Levy Medals to Mr. Frank W. Peek, Jr., General Electric Company; Professor Ernest G. Coker, D.Sc., F.R.S.E., University of London.

Presentation of Cresson Medals to Dr. George Ellery Hale, Ph.D., D.Sc., LL.D., honorary director, Mt. Wilson Observatory; Dr. Charles Sheldon Hastings, Ph.D., professor emeritus of physics, Yale University.

Presentation of the Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership to Professor Niels Bohr, Ph.D., director of the institute for theoretical physics, Copenhagen, Denmark. Received by the Minister of Denmark to the United States.

Presentation of the Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership to Samuel Rea, Sc.D., LL.D., former president, Pennsylvania Railroad.

A paper by Professor Niels Bohr on "Atomic Structure" was presented by Dr. Karl T. Compton. Mr. Samuel Rea gave an address on "Engineering Reminiscences."