a member of the society since 1908 and held the office of president for one year. He has the distinction of being the only member who now holds the rank of honorary member.

Twelve of the leading agronomists of the country were elected to fellowships by the society. The following are those who were thus honored:

Dr. C. R. Ball, Bureau of Plant Industry.

Dr. P. E. Brown, Iowa State College.

Dean L. E. Call, Kansas State Agricultural College.

Director S. B. Haskell, Massachusetts Agricultural Experiment Station.

Dean Jacob G. Lipman, Rutgers University.

Dr. T. L. Lyon, Cornell University.

Professor M. F. Miller, University of Missouri.

Dr. C. V. Piper, Bureau of Plant Industry.

Director R. W. Thatcher, N. Y. Agricultural Experiment Station.

Dr. Chas. E. Thorne, Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station.

Dr. C. W. Warburton, Extension Division, U. S. Department of Agriculture.

Dr. C. A. Zavitz, Ontario Agricultural College.

LATE NOTES ON THE KANSAS CITY MEET-ING OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

THE general headquarters hotel for the Kansas City meeting will be the Muehlebach. There has been some uncertainty, but this is now definite. The executive committee will hold its sessions in the Muehlebach, in the permanent secretary's consulting room. The council will hold its sessions in the tea room.

The following are the headquarters hotels for the several groups. By following these assignments congestion will be largely avoided.

Mathematicians, Hotel Baltimore.

Physicists and Meteorologists, Hotel Kupper.

Chemists, Hotel Aladdin.

Astronomers, Hotel Kupper.

Geologists and Geographers, Kansas City Athletic Club. General Zoologists, Kansas City Athletic Club.

Entomologists, Hotel Baltimore.

Parasitologists, Hotel Stats.

Ornithologists, Hotel Dixon.

Botanical Scientists, Hotel Baltimore.

Ecologists, Microscopists, Nature-Study Workers, Hotel Westgate.

Anthropologists, Hotel Muchlebach.

Psychologists, Coates House.

Social and Economic Scientists, Kansas City Athletic Club.

The Metric Association, Hotel Muehlebach.

Engineers, Hotel Muehlebach.

Medical Scientists, Hotel Baltimore.

Agronomists and Horticulturists, Hotel Baltimore.

Seed Analysts and Potato Workers, Hotel Savoy.

Education Scientists, Coates House.

The geneticists interested in agriculture are planning to hold a session on Monday, December 28, on the mezzanine floor of the Kansas City Athletic Club. The session is to be devoted to a symposium on "What genetics has contributed to practical plant and animal breeding," which will be led by Dr. E. W. Lindstrom, of Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa.

The Joint Genetics Section of the American Society of Zoologists and the Botanical Society of America will hold sessions Tuesday forenoon and Wednesday afternooon.

Upon arrival in Kansas City those attending the meeting should proceed at once to the registration room, in the Aladdin Hotel, which will be open from 9 to 9 on the first three days and from 9 to 5 on the remaining days. The general program will be available there, with full information on all details of the convention.

The sessions at Kansas City will necessarily be mainly held in hotels, but the hotels to be used are conveniently grouped. The local committee has cared for all details in an excellent manner. The meeting will be different in many respects from meetings held in university buildings, but it will surely be a real success and the unusual features of a hotel convention will constitute an interesting variation, more pleasant than otherwise.

> BURTON E. LIVINGSTON, Permanent Secretary

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE faculty of Wesleyan University presented to Dr. William North Rice, professor emeritus of geology, engrossed resolutions on his eightieth birthday on November 21. President McConaughy and Professor J. W. Hewitt made the presentation speeches.

THE gold medal of the Holland Society of New York was presented on November 23 to Professor Henry Fairfield Osborn, president of the American Museum of Natural History, in recognition of his achievements in the field of biological anthropology.

PROFESSOR ERNST COHEN, director of the Van't Hoff Laboratory at the University of Utrecht, Holland, will be the visiting professor of chemistry in Cornell University during the second semester of this academic year. Professor Cohen will be the first of a succession of scientific men to occupy the new nonresident chair of chemistry established here by the anonymous gift to the university of \$250,000, which was recently announced.

THE resignation by Professor A. V. Hill of the Jodrell chair of physiology, tenable at University College, London, has been accepted, with effect from