SCIENCE

order by Chairman Arny at Hotel Fort Des Moines, Des Moines, Iowa, on August 22.

Reports were presented by the chairmen of seven of the ten standing committees of the Research Conference, those reporting being:

Committee	Chairman
Standardization of U.S.P. and	
N. F. Pharmaceuticals	V. L. Scoville
Manufacture of U.S.P. and N.F.	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Chemicals	I. A. B. Dunning
Standardization of U.S.P. and	
N. F. Chemicals	. H. LaWall
Sources of Identification of Botanic	
DrugsE	I. W. Youngken
Standardization of Botanic DrugsE. L. Newcomb	
Chemistry of Drug Plants	V. O. Emery
Business Research in PharmacyAmbrose Hunsberger	

A motion was passed directing the chairmen of these committees to act as a committee of ten to report back next year as to the advisability of rearranging the ten committees with the aim of avoiding duplication of work. Mr. Newcomb presented a resolution endorsing the Pharmacy Building Campaign and urging all members of affiliated bodies to subscribe to the fund. This resolution was passed by the conference by unanimous vote. A committee, consisting of Messrs. Day, Snow and Whelpley, then presented a minute of sorrow over the passing of Dean L. E. Sayre, an active supporter of the Research Conference since its organization. The minute was adopted by a rising vote.

The census of research of 1925 was approved and the chairman was directed to conduct a similar census in 1926. Slight changes in style of publishing the census were directed.

Acting-Secretary Krantz brought up the question of a book in popular style describing the research achievements of pharmacy. After animated discussion, the research conference endorsed the idea and directed the appointment of a committee to formulate plans and to submit the same to the American Pharmaceutical Association and other national bodies likely to be interested, with a request that these organizations undertake the publication of such a book. Under the topic "Research funds" attention was called to the American Pharmaceutical Association Research Fund, the recently created Remington Research Fund of the United States Pharmaceutical Convention and to the newly designed Ebert Medal which will replace the cash prize from the Ebert Fund awarded by the American Pharmaceutical Association each year for the best paper presented at the meeting of the association.

The nominating committee presented the following

names for officers for 1925-26: Chairman, H. V. Arny, of New York; Vice-chairman, J. H. Webster, of Detroit; Secretary-Treasurer, J. C. Krantz, Jr., of Baltimore. The nominees were duly elected by the research conference.

The research conference adjourned to meet again, if possible, on the Saturday following the 1926 meeting of the American Pharmaceutical Association.

NATIONAL RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS IN THE BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

AT its fall meeting, held in Wood's Hole, Massachusetts, on September 5, the board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences made four appointments, namely: Harry R. DeSilva in psychology, Walter N. Ezekiel in botany, L. J. Klotz in botany and Miss Nellie M. Payne in zoology. Also, Miss Helen Redfield, whose appointment did not begin until last January, was reappointed for a second year, to take effect January 1, 1926.

It is planned to hold the next meeting of the board toward the end of February or early in March instead of at the end of April as has been the practice heretofore. Applications for consideration at this meeting should be in the hands of the board not later than February 1, 1926. It is further anticipated that a second meeting for the year 1926 will be held in June rather than the following fall. Information and application forms for the fellowships may be obtained by addressing the secretary, Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

> FRANK R. LILLIE, Chairman, Board of National Research Fellowships in the Biological Sciences

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

MEMORIAL services for the late Dr. John Mason Clarke, formerly head of the New York State Museum and state paleontologist, will be held in connection with the sixty-first annual convocation of the University of the State of New York, at Albany, on October 15. The principal speaker will be Dr. Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. Charles B. Alexander, a member of the State Board of Regents, will preside and there will be other speakers, to be announced later.

DR. FRANK SCHLESINGER, director of the Yale Observatory, who went to Johannesburg to set up the Yale telescope, has returned to the university after an absence of nine months.

DR. HEBER D. CURTIS, director of the Allegheny Observatory, will sail from San Francisco on September 26, on his way to Sumatra, where he is going to observe the eclipse of January 14 next.