Frederic Swarts, professor of chemistry in the University of Ghent, Belgium, and member of the Boyal Academy of Belgium. Professor Swarts is the son and successor of the successor of Kekulé in Gand. His father was Kekulé's assistant at the time (1868) Sir James Dewar worked in Gand, together with Körner, celebrated as the first to disclose the value of Kekulé's benzene symbol. Professor Swarts is distinguished as a student of the organic compounds of fluorine.

PREPARATIONS FOR THE KANSAS CITY MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

ARRANGEMENTS for the approaching annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and associated organizations, which will be held in Kansas City from December 28 to January 2 next, are being made. Dr. A. Ross Hill is chairman of the local committee for the Kansas City meeting and the secretary of the committee is Mr. W. M. Symon, manager of the convention bureau of the Kansas City Chamber of Commerce.

The general headquarters for the American Association will be at the Muehlebach Hotel. Other hotels, furnishing adequate additional accommodations for all who attend the meeting, will be available within two blocks of this hotel.

The association is assured of the usual reduced railway rates (a fare and a half for the round trip, certificate plan, as heretofore) for many railway lines and it is expected that the reduced rates will be available for most of the United States and Canada.

Each section of the association is to have a local representative, who will look after the interests of the section and the associated societies that meet with it. The local representatives are as follows:

Section A (mathematics). Professor Eugene Mitchell, 1313 Massachusetts Ave., Lawrence, Kansas.

Section B (physics). Mr. Ben F. Eyre, 306 Land Bank Bldg., Kansas City, Mo.

Section C (chemistry). Professor Herman Schlundt, University of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.

Section D (astronomy). Dr. D. E. Haynes, University of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.

Section E (geology and geography). Dr. H. A. Buehler, Rolla, Mo., *chairman*; Mr. Vernon F. Masters, 123 Railway Exchange Bldg., Kansas City, Mo.

Section F (zoological sciences). Dr. H. H. Lane, Zoology Department, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kans.

Section G (botanical sciences). Professor Albert Saeger, Junior College, Kansas City, Mo.

Section H (anthropology). Dr. C. A. Ellwood, University of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.

Section I (psychology). Dr. W. A. Andrews, Kansas State Agricultural College, Manhattan, Kans.

Section K (social and economic sciences). Mr. N. S. McKelvy, 1022 West 54th St., Kansas City, Mo.

Section L (historical and philological sciences). Mr. Purd Wright, Public Library, Kansas City, Mo.

Section M (engineering). Mr. J. F. Porter, President, Kansas City Power and Light Co., 1330 Grand Ave., Kansas City, Mo.

Section N (medical sciences). Dr. W. W. Duke, 1814 Federal Reserve Bank Bldg., Kansas City, Mo.

Section O (agriculture). Professor W. A. Cochel, Central Shorthorn Breeders' Association, Hotel Baltimore, Kansas City, Mo.

Section Q (education). Mr. George Melcher, 226 Library Bldg., Kansas City, Mo.

Dr. M. I. Pupin, professor of electromechanics at Columbia University, will preside over the general sessions. At the opening session on the evening of Monday, December 28, the retiring presidential address will be given by Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of SCIENCE. Tuesday evening will be devoted to the fourth annual Sigma Xi lecture, which will this year be given by W. M. Jardine, secretary of agriculture. On Wednesday afternoon will occur the third Josiah Willard Gibbs lecture of the American Mathematical Society, which will be given by Professor James Pierpont, of Yale University. It is planned that an evening general session will be devoted to several invited papers arranged by the Committee of One Hundred on Scientific Research.

> BURTON E. LIVINGSTON, Permanent Secretary

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. IRVING LANGMUIR, of the General Electric Company, has been awarded the Cannizzaro Prize of the Royal National Academy of the Lincei, Rome.

DR. Ross G. HARRISON, Bronson professor of comparative anatomy and director of the Osborn Zoological Laboratory at Yale University, has been awarded a John Scott Prize of \$1,000 and a bronze medal by the Board of Directors of City Trusts, Philadelphia.

CAPTAIN WILLIAM S. EICHELBERGER, of the United States Naval Observatory, has been elected an associate of the Royal Astronomical Society.

E. F. W. ALEXANDERSON, consulting engineer of the General Electric Company, was decorated by the King of Sweden on July 2 with the Order of the North Star, the highest decoration. The decoration was part of the ceremony in connection with the official opening of Sweden's new high-powered radio station at Varberg.

Associate Professor F. D. MURNAGHAN, of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected a member of the London Mathematical Society.

ELMER AMBROSE SPERRY, president of the Sperry Gyroscope Company, and Samuel Insull, president