James F. Kemp, with the request that he transmit it to the recipient. The Thompson medal, which was established for the purpose of recognizing the achievements of long service, has been awarded but twice before, first to Dr. Charles D. Walcott, and second to Emmanuel de Margerie.

THE FIRST AWARD OF THE JOSEPH LEIDY MEMORIAL MEDAL

AT a special meeting of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, held on May 12, the first award of the Joseph Leidy Memorial Medal was made to Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings, of the Johns Hopkins University.

The Joseph Leidy Memorial Fund was created in 1923 as a trust with the academy, and was so announced at the Joseph Leidy commemorative meeting, held at the Academy of Natural Sciences on December 6, 1923. The fund was created by Dr. Joseph Leidy II, in memory of his uncle Dr. Joseph Leidy, onetime president of the academy. The fund provides for the award every three years of a bronze medal, accompanied by an honorarium, "as a reward for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the natural sciences in such particular branches thereof as may be designated."

The award of the Leidy Medal was made to Dr. Jennings on the recommendation of a committee of the academy, "in appreciation of his researches upon the Protozoa and the Rotatoria, and in recognition of his broad knowledge and keen understanding of the significance of biological phenomena."

The presentation of the award was made by Dr. Richard A. F. Penrose, president of the academy.

The medal is a bronze plaque bearing the head of Dr. Joseph Leidy, the distinguished zoologist, anatomist and paleontologist, on the face, and on the reverse the dates of his birth (1823) and death (1891), the name of the academy and that of the recipient and the date of the award.

Dr. Jennings delivered the address on the zoological work of Joseph Leidy at the Leidy commemorative meeting, and there is unusual appropriateness in his selection for the honor of the first award. A successor of Leidy in one of his fields of greatest endeavor, the study of the lower forms of animal life, and a philosophical zoologist with a viewpoint worthy of the man in whose memory the medal was founded, Dr. Jennings' selection has placed the standard for recipients of future award on a very high plane.

THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

At the annual meeting of the American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia, the following officers and members were elected: President: Charles D. Walcott.

Vice-Presidents: Henry F. Osborn, William W. Campbell, Francis X. Dercum.

Secretaries: Arthur W. Goodspeed, John A. Miller.

Curator: William P. Wilson.

Treasurer: Eli K. Price.

Councillors: To serve for three years—Thomas B. Osborne, John F. Lewis, William M. Wheeler, William Trelease.

Members: Residents of the United States—Edwin A. Alderman, Charlottesville, Va.; Annie J. Cannon, Cambridge, Mass.; Arthur Holly Compton, Chicago, Ill.; Charles Day, Philadelphia, Pa.; William King Gregory, New York City; William Draper Harkins, Chicago, Ill.; Lewis R. Jones, Madison, Wis.; Elliott Proctor Joslin, Boston, Mass.; Andrew Cowper Lawson, Berkeley, Calif.; George Grant MacCurdy, New Haven, Conn.; Howard Hawks Mitchell, Philadelphia, Pa.; James Alan Montgomery, Philadelphia, Pa.; Edward Kennard Rand, Cambridge, Mass.; Edgar Arthur Singer, Jr., Philadelphia, Pa.; Joel Stebbins, Madison, Wis.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

GIOVANNI BATTISTA GRASSI, director of the institute of comparative anatomy in the University of Rome, noted for his experiments on the control and prevention of malaria, died on May 5. Professor Grassi was a member of the Italian Senate.

M. ALBIN HALLER, professor of organic chemistry at the Sorbonne, Paris, and director of the Paris Municipal School of Industrial Physics and Chemistry, has died at the age of seventy-five years.

DR. PAUL M. REA, of the Cleveland Museum of Natural History, has been elected president of the Ohio Academy of Science.

PROFESSOR HAROLD R. HAGAN, of the University of Utah, was elected president of the Utah Academy of Sciences at the recent meeting held in Salt Lake City.

THE Northwest Scientific Association elected as president Dr. C. H. Clapp, president of the University of Montana, at the second annual meeting held at Spokane, Washington.

Dr. CHREE, superintendent of Kew Observatory, England, has retired.

PROFESSOR BOHUSLAV BRAUNER, director of the Chemical Institute of the Charles University of Prague, celebrated his seventieth birthday on May 8.

Among the honorary degrees to be awarded by the University of Glasgow on June 24 are the doctorate of laws on Sir John Bland-Sutton, president of the Royal College of Surgeons; on Lord Ronaldshay, president of the Royal Geographical Society, and on M. Martin T. Tuffier, professor of surgery in the University of Paris.