past few years, will each receive unusual recognition at the Tenth Exposition of Chemical Industries to be held this year during the week of September 28 to October 3 at the Grand Central Palace, New York. Plans for the new "Court of Chemical Achievement," inaugurated at the recent meeting of the Advisory Committee of the Exposition, are rapidly taking shape. Outstanding achievements of American chemistry, whether in the research or industrial field, which have been completed during recent years, will be admitted to the court after they have passed a committee of approval of the American Chemical Society.

The new "Court of Achievement," which bids fair to be the outstanding feature of the Chemical Exposition this year, will be in the form of small unit exhibits together in one large specially arranged group. Among the new products which have been suggested for display are twenty-seven recent developments. This list will probably be increased several times by other new chemical products, instruments and explanation of new processes.

All exhibits will be passed upon and admission to the Court of Achievement will be granted by a committee of the American Chemical Society known as the committee of approval which is composed of Marston T. Bogert, chairman, C. M. Stine, E. R. Weidlein, F. W. Willard and John Johnston. A subcommittee of the Chemical Exposition Advisory Committee, composed of H. E. Howe, chairman, F. J. Metzger and T. B. Wagner, will act in an advisory capacity to the exposition management in the general conduct of the new project.

Entries for new products and processes for the Court of Achievement must be sent to Court of Achievement, Room 1102, Grand Central Palace, New York, prior to May 1, after which time applications will not be considered. A nominal fee will be charged for all exhibits in the court except those of institutions of learning and government bureaus or departments which will be accepted without charge if they pass the judges. A brochure will be printed and distributed from the Court of Achievement at the exposition. Full information can be secured by inquiring at the address indicated above.

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the spring meeting of the National Academy of Sciences held in Washington on April 28, the following members were elected:

Section of Mathematics:
Solomon Lefschetz, University of Kansas.
Section of Physics:
Frederick Albert Saunders, Harvard University.
William David Coolidge, Schenectady, New York.
Section of Engineering:
Ralph Modjeski, Chicago.

Elmer Ambrose Sperry, Manhattan Bridge Plaza, Brooklyn, New York.

Section of Chemistry:

Charles August Kraus, Clark University.

Section of Geology and Paleontology:

Reginald Aldworth Daly, Harvard University.

Section of Botany:

Edward Murray East, Harvard University.

Section of Physiology and Pathology:

Florence Rena Sabin, The Johns Hopkins Medical School.

Harry Gideon Wells, University of Chicago.

Section of Anthropology and Psychology:

Walter Bowers Pillsbury, University of Michigan.

Foreign members were elected, as follows:

Sir Charles Parsons, the British engineer.

Professor Arthur Stanley Eddington, Plumian professor of astronomy in the University of Cambridge.

Dr. Adolph Engler, professor of botany in the University of Berlin.

Dr. Niels Bohr, professor of physics in the University of Copenhagen.

Mr. Charles P. E. Schneider, the French engineer.

Dr. Hans Speman, professor of zoology, University of Freiburg, i. Br.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, was elected president of the American Philosophical Society at the general meeting of the society held in Philadelphia from April 23 to 25.

As a memorial to Dr. Charles P. Steinmetz, chief consulting engineer of the General Electric Company, the Schenectady Section of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers has initiated a series of annual lectures, to be known as the Steinmetz Lectures. The first will be given on May 8 by Professor M. I. Pupin, of Columbia University, president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. His subject will be "Law, description and hypothesis in the electrical science."

The seventieth birthday of Dean M. E. Cooley, of the University of Michigan, was recently celebrated at a general engineering assembly. A large silver loving cup was presented to him by the engineering and architectural students. Upon this cup was engraved the inscription, "An expression of the appreciation and affection of the students of the colleges of engineering and architecture for their dean, Mortimer Elwyn Cooley, March 28, 1925." L. W. Wallace, secretary of the American Engineering Council, of Washington, D. C., gave a eulogy of Dean Cooley and Acting President Alfred H. Lloyd congratulated him on behalf of the faculty and students.