of distribution of size of particles: Alfred J. STAMM, University of Wisconsin.

The centrifugal method for determination of the distribution of size of particles in colloidal solutions: J. B. NICHOLS, University of Wisconsin.

The motion picture machine as an aid to colloid research demonstrations: E. O. KRAEMER, University of Wisconsin; W. J. KELLY, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co.; W. G. FRANCE, Ohio State University.

TOWNSHEND STITH BRANDEGEE

TOWNSHEND STITH BRANDEGEE, honorary curator in the herbarium of the University of California, died in Berkeley, California, on April 7, 1925, in the eighty-third year of his age. Mr. Brandegee was born on February 16, 1843, in the village of Berlin, Connecticut. He was a veteran of the Civil War, a graduate of the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University in 1870 (Ph.B.), by profession a civil engineer. He was assistant topographer on Hayden's survey of the territories, with work largely in southwest Colorado. He was also connected with the northern transcontinental survey, being situated in the Yakima Region in what was then Washington Territory. He came to California in the winter of 1886-87 to superintend the collection of rare or troublesome tree trunks for the Jesup collection at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. He explored the islands off the coast of California and Mexico and made extensive journeys throughout the peninsula of Lower California. He was a resident member of the California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco and an active worker in that institution for many years. He later lived in San Diego, California, where his herbarium and garden were visited by all botanists making trips to that portion of the country. His wife, Katherine Lavne Brandegee, herself a distinguished botanist, died in 1920. The collections of Mr. and Mrs. Brandegee were presented to the University of California in 1906 and since that time both Mr. and Mrs. Brandegee were closely associated with the work of that institution.

W. A. S.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Barnard Medal for Meritorious Service to Science, awarded by the trustees of Columbia University on nomination of the National Academy of Sciences, has been given to Dr. Niels Bohr, professor of physics at the University of Copenhagen, in recognition of his researches on the structure of atoms. Previous recipients of the Barnard Medal are: Lord Rayleigh and Professor William Ramsay, 1895; Professor Wilhelm Conrad Von Röntgen, 1900; Professor Henri Becquerel, 1905; Professor Ernest Rutherford, 1910; Professor William Henry Bragg and Professor Lawrence Bragg, 1915; Albert Einstein, 1920.

THE Elliott Cresson gold medal has been awarded to Francis Hodgkinson, chief engineer of the South Philadelphia works of the Westinghouse Electric & Manufacturing Company, who has been prominently identified with steam-turbine design and construction work during the past thirty-one years.

GIFFORD PINCHOT, governor of Pennsylvania and formerly forester of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, and George Bird Grinnell, editor of *Forest* and Stream, have been awarded Roosevelt medals for distinguished service by the Roosevelt Memorial Association.

Dr. HERBERT S. JENNINGS, professor of zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected a corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

DR. W. W. KEEN, of Philadelphia, and Professor Sanarelli, of Rome, have been elected honorary foreign members of the Royal Academy of Medicine of Belgium.

DR. GEORGE GRANT MACCURDY, of Yale University and the American School of Prehistoric Research, has been elected a correspondent of the Società Romana di Antropologia.

DR. CLARK WISSLER, curator-in-chief of the division of anthropology of the American Museum of Natural History, has been elected to honorary membership in the Michigan Academy of Science, Arts and Letters.

SIR WILLIAM BRAGG, Fullerian professor of chemistry at the Royal Institution, and director of the Davy-Faraday Research Laboratory, and Dr. F. G. Donnan, professor of inorganic and physical chemistry in the University of London, are among those on whom the senate of St. Andrews University has voted to confer honorary degrees.

THE University of Edinburgh will in July confer its doctorate of laws on Dr. A. S. Eddington, Plumian professor of astronomy and experimental philosophy in the University of Cambridge.

THE Paris Academy of Sciences has elected as corresponding member Sir John Russell, director of the Rothamsted Experiment Station in the section of agriculture; M. Luc Picart, of Bordeaux, in the section of astronomy, and M. René Koehler, of the faculty of sciences at Lyons, in the section of anatomy and zoology.

DR. J. E. ACKERT, professor of zoology at the Kansas State Agricultural College and parasitologist of the experiment station, was elected president of