Committee on Organization presents a number of topics as subjects for special discussion or symposiums. The provisional list, which is subject to emendation and extension, is as follows:

- 1. The world's reserves in phosphates and pyrites.
- 2. Geology of the Mediterranean.
- 3. Cambrian and Silurian faunas.
- 4. Geology of Africa and its relations to that of Europe.
- 5. Tertiary vertebrates.
- 6. Hercynian folds.
- 7. Tertiary Foraminifera.
- 8. Modern theories of metallogeny.
- 9. Vulcanism.
- Geophysical studies: (a) Their application to geology, (b) necessity of unification of the gravimetrical methods.

As with former congresses, excursions are being arranged to cover a large number of regions and localities of particular interest to the stratigrapher, the paleontologist, the metalliferous geologist, the physiographer, the tectonic geologist and others. These most alluring excursions, fuller particulars of which will later be issued by the committee, will take place before, during and after the congress, according to arrangements yet to be completed. Senor C. Rubio, president of the Board of Mines and former director of the Geological Institute of Spain, who headed the Spanish delegation at the last congress, held in Brussels in 1922, is president of the organizing committee.

In accordance with previous sessions the congress will be in its make-up thoroughly democratic and autonomous. However, admission to the excursions will be specially reserved for members of the congress who are geologists, geographers, mining engineers or persons engaged in the study or application of some branch of geology. Communications and papers to be submitted may be written and presented in French, English, German or Spanish. Authors submitting titles for the programs are requested to attach abstracts not longer than one page of printed text, and these should be typewritten and in duplicate.

Interest in this congress appears to be widespread among American geologists and it is understood that a considerable number are making arrangements to be in Madrid in the spring of 1926. The secretariat announces that the guide book for excursions is already in preparation. Everything, in fact, points toward a very successful and profitable session of the congress.

## THE JOSEPH LEIDY MEMORIAL AWARD

THE Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, as was noted in Science last week, has selected Dr. Herbert Spencer Jennings, of the Johns Hopkins University, as the recipient of the first award of the

Joseph Leidy Memorial Award. The selection of Dr. Jennings was made by the academy's committee on the Joseph Leidy Memorial Award, "in appreciation of his researches upon the Protozoa and the Rotatoria, and in recognition of his broad knowledge and keen understanding of the significance of biological phenomena."

The Joseph Leidy Memorial Award was endowed by a fund created in 1923, as a trust with the academy, providing for the award of a bronze medal every three years, accompanied by an honorarium, "as a reward for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the natural sciences in such particular branches thereof as may be designated, which award of said medal and honorarium once in three years and the conditions and limitations attending the same and all matters connected with the gift, shall be determined by a committee to be selected in an appropriate manner by the academy."

The committee, whose recommendation has been approved and accepted by the council of the academy and the academy itself, consists of Witmer Stone, chairman, R. A. F. Penrose (ex-officio), Henry Skinner, Henry A. Pilsbry, Henry W. Fowler and James A. G. Rehn, secretary.

The presentation of the award will be made at a special meeting of the academy to be held in the near future.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

MEMORIAL exercises in honor of Thomas Corwin Mendenhall will be held on April 16 in the University Hall of the Ohio State University. The program will include addresses by Dr. Ira N. Hollis, president of Worcester Polytechnic Institute; by Dr. Charles Frederick Marvin, chief of the United States Weather Bureau, and by Dr. Elihu Thomson, director of the Thomson Laboratory of the General Electric Company, Lynn, Massachusetts. These addresses will be followed by the presentation by the Mendenhall family of a bronze replica of the portrait medallion of Dr. Mendenhall given to him by his first group of students on the fiftieth anniversary of the opening of the university on September 17, 1923.

SIR E. JOHN RUSSELL, director of the Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, England, has been elected a corresponding member of the Paris Academy of Sciences, in the Section of Rural Economy, in succession to Professor Winogradsky, who has been elected a foreign associate.

Dr. Harris J. Ryan, professor of electrical engineering at Stanford University, received the degree of doctor of laws from the University of California on