Among exhibits of the Mount Wilson Observatory were shown the operation of a vacuum thermocouple for measuring planetary temperatures and the new seismograph for detecting earthquakes, the latter recently developed by Dr. J. A. Anderson.

The department of terrestrial magnetism presented an interesting exhibit of methods and equipment developed and used to record and measure earth currents.

Dr. S. G. Morley and his associates, who have been carrying on archeological investigations in British Honduras, Guatemala and Mexico, showed the progress of these investigations by means of maps, photographs and models.

Among the exhibits representing work of research associates should be mentioned the apparatus developed by Dr. B. E. Livingston and Mr. J. D. Wilson showing the influence of conditions such as wind and light on rate of water-loss from plants. The thoroughly developed technique and the convincing operation of this apparatus proved a source of much interest.

Interesting exhibits were also on view from other research departments of the institution and from other research associates, including Dr. Albert Mann, Dr. Ralph W. Chaney, Dr. T. W. Richards, of Harvard University, Dr. T. B. Osborne and Dr. L. B. Mendel, of the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station and Yale University, and Dr. A. E. Douglass, of the University of Arizona.

## RESEARCH PRIZE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA

To encourage scientific research at the University of Virginia, the President and Visitors' Research Prize has been established through a gift of Hollis Rinehart, member of the board of visitors, in the form of \$100 in gold, to be awarded each year for the best original investigation published by a professor or student of the university.

This award is to be announced each April at the annual meeting of the local chapter of Sigma Xi.

Selection of the winner of the President and Visitors' Research Prize will be made by a committee of authorities selected by Dr. F. K. Richtmyer, national president of Sigma Xi and professor of physics at Cornell University. The names of the committeemen have not been announced.

Heads of each of the scientific departments of the university will select the most suitable published research from his department each year and will present it to the committee of Sigma Xi. The prize is not limited to any one field but is open to investigators in pure and applied science and mathematics. Competition is limited to the schools of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics, physics and to the departments of engineering and medicine.

First award of the President and Visitors' Research Prize will be made at the next annual meeting of

Sigma Xi in April. Dr. S. A. Mitchell, professor of astronomy and director of the Leander McCormick Observatory, is president of the local chapter. The winner of the prize will be asked to address members of the faculty on his subject in the following fall.

Need for such a recognition of original investigation at the university has long been felt and the organization of the local chapter of Sigma Xi in 1923 followed the appointment of a faculty committee on research. The two bodies cooperating worked out the plan for the President and Visitors' Research Prize.

## THE FORMATION OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF PARASITOLOGISTS

A NEW society, the American Society of Parasitologists, was formed at a meeting of a number of those interested in parasitology held in Washington on December 30, 1924. As stated in its constitution the object of the new society shall be the association of workers in the field of parasitology for the presentation and discussion of new or important facts and problems in that science and for the adoption of such measurers as shall tend to the advancement of parasitological teaching and investigation in this country. The members of the society are to be of two classes, active and foreign honorary and any person interested in parasitology shall be eligible for active membership. The dues of the society were set at one dollar a year. The following officers were elected for the first year:

President, H. B. Ward.
Vice-president, S. T. Darling.
Secretary-Treasurer, W. W. Cort.
Members at large of the Council:

For one year.
F. C. Bishopp,
C. A. Kofoid.
For two years.
W. A. Biley,
E. E. Tyzzer.
For three years.
R. W. Hegner,
B. H. Ransom.
For four years.
P. S. Bartsch,
C. W. Stiles.

The secretary-treasurer will be glad to receive applications for membership accompanied by the dues for the first year. Also, the council will be glad to receive suggestions from any one interested in regard to the policies or activities of the new society.

W. W. Cort,

Secretary-Treasurer

SCHOOL OF HYGIENE AND PUBLIC HEALTH, JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY

## APPALACHIAN FOREST RESEARCH COUNCIL

An Appalachian Forest Research Council has been appointed by Secretary Gore, of the U. S. Depart-