OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

AT the Washington meeting of the American Association the following officers were elected:

President

M. I. Pupin, professor of electro-mechanics, Columbia University, New York, N. Y.

VICE-PRESIDENTS

Section A (Mathematics), W. A. Roever, professor of mathematics, Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.

Section B (Physics), H. M. Randall, professor of physics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Section C (Chemistry), H. B. Cady, professor of chemistry, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas.

Section D (Astronomy), A. E. Douglass, professor of astronomy, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.

Section E (Geology and Geography), R. A. Daly, professor of geology, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

Section F (Zoological Sciences), H. S. Jennings, professor of zoology, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland.

Section G (Botanical Sciences), R. B. Wylie, professor of botany, State University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Section H (Anthropology), Chas. B. Davenport, director of the Station for Experimental Evolution, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y.

Section I (Psychology), C. E. Seashore, professor of psychology, State University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Section K (Social and Economic Sciences), F. R. Fairchild, professor of political economy, Yale University, New Haven, Conn.

Section L (Historical and Philological Sciences), W. A. Oldfather, professor of classics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill.

Section M (Engineering), F. G. Cottrell, director of the Fixed Nitrogen Laboratory, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.

Section N (Medical Sciences), A. J. Carlsen, professor of physiology, University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.

Section O (Agriculture), C. V. Pper, agrostologist, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.

Section Q (Education), Otis W. Caldwell, director of the Lincoln School, Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, N. Y.

PERMANENT SECRETARY

Burton E. Livingston, director of the laboratory of plant physiology, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland.

GENERAL SECRETARY

W. J. Humphreys, professor of meteorology, George Washington University, and U. S. Weather Bureau, Washington, D. C.

TREASURER

J. L. Wirt, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D. C.

SECRETARIES OF THE SECTIONS

Section A (Mathematics), R. C. Archibald, associate

- Section B (Physics), A. L. Hughes, Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.
- Section C (Chemistry), Gerald Dietrichson, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill.

Section D (Astronomy), Philip Fox, professor of astronomy, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Section E (Geology and Geography), G. R. Mansfield, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C.

Section F (Zoological Sciences), G. T. Hargitt, professor of zoology, Syracuse University, Syracuse, N. Y.

- Section G (Botanical Sciences), S. F. Trelease, professor of plant physiology, University of Louisville, Louisville, Ky.
- Section H (Anthropology), R. J. Terry, professor of anatomy, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo.
- Section I (Psychology), F. N. Freeman, professor of psychology, University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.
- Section K (Social and Economic Sciences), F. L. Hoffman, Babson Institute, Babson Park, Mass.

Section L (Historical and Philological Sciences), F. E. Brasch, Congressional Library, Smithsonian Division, Washington, D. C.

Section M (Engineering), N. H. Heck, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, Department of Commerce, Washington, D. C.

Section N (Medical Sciences), A. J. Goldfarb, professor of biology, College of the City of New York, New York, N. Y.

Section O (Agriculture), P. E. Brown, Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa.

Section Q (Education), A. S. Barr, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.

ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

L. O. Howard, Chief of the Bureau of Entomology, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.

D. T. MacDougal, director of the Desert Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Tucson, Ariz.

ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

B. M. Dugger (1925), Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Mo.

Edwin B. Wilson (1928), Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, Mass.

Vernon L. Kellogg (1928), permanent secretary of the National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

George K. Burgess, *Chairman*; chief of the U. S. Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C.

Arthur L. Day, director of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D. C.

ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON GRANTS FOR RESEARCH

Joseph Erlanger, professor of physiology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo.

Nevin M. M. Fenneman, professor of geology, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio.